Metallica To Play MSG With New York Symphony

Metallica, never a band to delve much into sex in their music, is about to unleash "S&M" on the masses next month. However, the album marks a musical, not lyrical, change in the band's style: "S&M," in this case, is short for "Symphony & Metallica."

"S&M" is a live album of Metallica's shows earlier this year with the San Francisco Symphony, under the direction of Michael Kamen (see "Metallica Debuts 'Full-On Heavy' New Tunes With Orchestra").

To promote "S&M," the band has scheduled two more orchestra-backed concerts; the only U.S. show, however, will be at New York's Madison Square Garden on November 23, the day the album is released in the U.S. If you can't make it to the New York gig, get your passport ready: the group's only other scheduled symphonic date is in Berlin, Germany at the Velodrome on November 19.

If you prefer your Metallica in lean, mean, four-man form, the band will be playing, along with Ted

Nugent, at the Pontiac Silverdome in Detroit, Michigan, on New Year's Eve. The band also plan a quick run of non-symphonic dates around the millennium (see "Metallica's Ulrich Talks Symphonic Album And Mini-Tour").

Here's the "S&M" track list:

  • "Call of Ktulu"
  • "Master of Puppets"
  • "Of Wolf And Man"
  • "The Thing That Should Not Be"
  • "Fuel"
  • "The Memory Remains"
  • "No Leaf Clover"
  • "Hero Of The Day"
  • "Devil Dance"
  • "Bleeding Me"
  • "Nothing Else Matters"
  • "Until It Sleeps"
  • "For Whom The Bell Tolls"
  • "Minus Human"
  • "Wherever I May Roam"
  • "The Outlaw Torn"
  • "Sad But True"
  • "One"
  • "Enter Sandman"
  • "Battery"