Korn's Davis, Sugar Ray's McGrath, Limp's Durst, Others To Salute Snot Singer

Friends and bandmates of late Snot frontman Lynn Strait are planning to keep the singer's memory alive with a tribute CD, but don't expect a rehashing of the band's previously released material.

When "Strait Up" arrives sometime next year, the record will feature a host of singers joining the band for songs that were written for the second album that Snot never got the chance to record.

According to Snot bassist John "Tumor" Fahnestock, the list of artists expected to help out on the record includes Korn's Jonathan Davis, Sugar Ray's Mark McGrath, Limp Bizkit's Fred Durst and DJ Lethal, System Of A Down's Serj Tankian and Shavo Odadjian, Coal Chamber's Dez Fafara, and Soulfly's Max Cavalera and Marcello D. Rapp.

So far, four tracks have been completed for the album. Soulfly's Max and Marcello join System Of A Down's Shavo on "Catch A Spirit," while System's Serj has recorded "Starlit Eyes." RKL's Sears finished work on a track called "'Til Next Time," and (hed)

pe's M.C.U.D. recorded "I Know Where You're At."

Fahnestock said that Sugar Ray's McGrath is expected to record his track early next week, and he hopes to have the rest of the album's vocals recorded by January. Fishbone's Angelo Moore, Walt Kibby, and Norwood Fisher are also expected to add horns and vocals to a track or two as well.

Fahnestock hopes to have the album in stores in the spring or summer of next year.

-- Robert Mancini