Beck, Pavement, Sonic Youth Get Down In "The Groovebox"

Beck, Pavement, Sonic Youth, and Sean Lennon are among the artists that have contributed new songs to an electronica-themed new album, "At Home With The Groovebox," due out in March via Grand Royal Records.

Musicians involved in the project were asked to submit or record a track that features the Groovebox, a portable synthesizer containing samples from such premier recording devices as the 808 drum machine, the 303 bass machine, and various other vintage synthesizer sounds.

Others who have gotten into the loop (so to speak) for the LP include Air, Cibo Matto, Buffalo Daughter and Bis, as well as such electronic pioneers as Dick Hyman, Gershon Kingsley, and Jean-Jacques Perrey.

Hyman was a jazz virtuoso who released the seminal "Moog: The Electric Eclectics Of Dick Hyman" in 1969, while Perrey and Kingsley collaborated on a series of albums in the 60's that incorporated the use of various electronic instruments and distortion techniques.

Prior to

the album's release, Grand Royal plans to issue MP3s of various tracks from "At Home With The Groovebox" via its official Web site beginning in late-January or early-February, although the label has yet to determine which song will be released first.

The track listing for "At Home With The Groovebox":

  • "The Groovy Leprechauns" - Jean-Jacques Perrey
  • "303 + 606 = Acid" - Buffalo Daughter
  • "J.I.H.A.D." - John McEntire
  • "Planet Vega" - Air
  • "Robyn Turns 26" - Pavement
  • "Insects Are All Around Us" - Money Mark
  • "Boyz" - Beck
  • "Winged Elephants" - Sean Lennon
  • "Popcorn" - Gershon Kingsley
  • "Campfire" - Sonic Youth
  • "Oh My" - Bis
  • "We Love Our Lawyers" - Cibo Matto
  • "Today I Started Celebrating Again" - Dick Hyman

-- David Basham

What do you think about this story? You Tell Us.