Coldplay's New Album Ghost Stories Coming In May

9-track album is available for pre-order on iTunes now.

After [article id="1722898"]sneaking a new song[/article]
 out on us last week, Coldplay sprung another surprise on us Monday morning (March 3) with the reveal of the details on their upcoming sixth album.

The nine-track Ghost Stories is due out on May 19, with pre-orders available now on iTunes. After the ambush minimalist preview of the track "Midnight," they also announced that the album's official first single will be "Magic," which is available for download with pre-orders.

Not much is known about the follow-up to 2011's experimental Mylo Xyloto, but "Midnight" and "Magic" both hint that the group may have moved away from the radio-friendly anthems that have made them arena stars across the planet into a more introspective, quiet zone.

Set to a spare drum machine-like beat, warm, subtle keyboards and a throbbing bass, "Magic" features the lines, "Call it magic/ Call it true/ Call it magic when I'm with you."

The song follows a mostly midtempo path, with singer Chris Martin staying in a reflective, sing/talk pocket until climbing into his signature falsetto midway through, at which point echoey U2-like guitars bleed into the mix.

The full track listing for Ghost Stories:

1. "Always In My Head"

2. "Magic"

3. "Ink"

4. "True Love"

5. "Midnight"

6. "Another's Arms"

7. "Oceans"

8. "A Sky Full Of Stars"

9. "O"

A deluxe edition of the album with three bonus tracks will be available at Target. The band will headline the opening night of the first U.S. iTunes Festival at SXSW on March 11, with the performance streamed live and on-demand for free through the iTunes store.