MTV News Online

Just short of a year in the making, LL Cool J's eighth album, The G.O.A.T. (The Greatest Of All Time), set to be released on Aug. 22, boasts a bevy of hip-hop and R&B hitmakers, as was revealed at a listening party on Tuesday in New York.

Snoop Dogg, Xzibit and Jayo Felony join LL Cool J on the track "Can't Think," which addresses LL's well-publicized troubles with actor-comedian Jamie Foxx on the set of the 1999 film "Any Given Sunday." R&B crooner Kelly Price, who will soon release her second album, Mirror Mirror, guests on the track "U & Me."

Following in the tradition of LL's last posse cut "4, 3, 2, 1" — which featured DMX, Redman, Method Man, Canibus and Master P on the remix (and prompted the lyrical battle between LL and Canibus) — "Forget About It" spotlights verses from the returning DMX, Red and Meth.

Mobb Deep's Prodigy guests on a track titled "Queens Sh--" produced by Havoc, the other half of the Queens, N.Y., hip-hop duo. Other producers featured on the project include EPMD's DJ Scratch, Q-Tip, Lofey, Self, Trackmasters, Ty Fyffe and Vada Nobles.

The album's first single, "Imagine That," produced by Da Rockwilder, has already hit radio, while the Hype Williams-helmed clip for the second single "Hello," starring Amil of the Roc-A-Fella camp, is set to debut in early July.

Meanwhile, LL Cool J is filming "Kingdom Come" with Whoopi Goldberg, and next month the MC-turned-actor will begin filming a remake of the '70s classic "Rollerball."

Here's what you'll find on "The G.O.A.T." when it arrives on Aug. 22 (tracks listed in no particular order):


"Imagine That"

"L.L. Cool J"

"Queens Sh--"

"Mirror Mirror"

"Legendary Ni--a"

"East To West"

"U & Me"


"Forget About It"


"Can't Think"

"Back Where I Belong"

"Live Me Life"

"Ill Bomb"


— Elon Johnson