ASCAP To Give Songwriting Award To Steely Dan

The performing-rights organization will honor the group at a dinner in May.

Jazz-rock duo Steely Dan will receive the Founders Award from the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers, the performing-rights organization announced.

The award will be presented to the pair — Walter Becker and Donald Fagen — May 22 at the ASCAP Pop Awards dinner, in Beverly Hills, Calif. The award is ASCAP's top honor for lifetime achievement in songwriting and will put the pair in the company of Stephen Sondheim, Joni Mitchell, Billy Joel, Hal David and Burt Bacharach, Smokey Robinson and Stevie Wonder.

Becker and Fagen began working together in the 1960s, when the two met at Bard College in upstate New York. Their first album as Steely Dan, 1972's Can't Buy a Thrill, featured the hit singles "Reelin' in the Years" and "Do It Again" (RealAudio excerpt).

The duo released Two Against Nature, their first album of new material since 1980, in February. The LP debuted on the Billboard 200 albums chart at #6 and features the single "Gaslighting Abbie" (RealAudio excerpt).