Latin Music Hall Of Fame To Honor 44 Musicians

La Lupe, Jose Feliciano and others recognized in second annual induction ceremony.

Performers Jose Feliciano, La Lupe and Chico O'Farrill will be among the 44 artists honored Wednesday at the second annual International Latin Music Hall of Fame (ILMHF) induction ceremony at the Hostos Center for the Arts and Culture in the Bronx, N.Y.

The ILMHF will induct 34 artists, including Feliciano, Lupe and Willie Colon. Ten additional artists — including Harry Belafonte and Buena Vista Social Club organizer Ry Cooder — will be given special-recognition awards. O'Farrill will receive a lifetime-achievement award.

"We are looking as far back as 1879, so there are probably more than 1,100 people who belong in there," says ILMHF founder and president Joe Hernandez. "We will have to induct large numbers of musicians the first few years. It’s as if the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame didn’t start until 2050."

To be eligible, according to Hernandez, artists must be active in the music business for 25 years and have had "enormous impact" on Latin music. The 14-member selection committee includes such experts as Cristobal Diaz Ayala, author of several histories of Latin music.

The ceremony, which will be webcast live at, will feature performances from inductees Larry Harlow and Alfredo "Chocolate" Armenteros, as well as Japanese salsa singer Nora. Newly created film montages on each of the inductees will be screened throughout the two-and-a-half-hour event.

For a full list of inductees, see the Latin Music Hall of Fame Web site (