Indigo Girls, k.d. lang Among GLAMA Nominees

Gay/Lesbian American Music Awards considers all categories of music.

The Indigo Girls, blueswoman Gaye Adegbalola of Saffire — The Uppity Blues Women and chanteuse k.d. lang are some of the big names nominated for the fourth annual Gay/Lesbian American Music Awards.

In other categories, rocker Boy George, pop group Pet Shop Boys, jazz pianist Fred Hersch, Brit-rock group the London Suede singer Meshell Ndegeocello, Oscar-winning composer John Corigliano and the musical "Hedwig and the Angry Inch" were also recognized by the nonprofit organization.

Last year's winner for Best Female Artist, Sonia Rutstein, who performs as SONiA of disappear fear (her former folk duo), is up for six GLAMAs as a performer, writer and producer.

The ceremonies for this year's GLAMA, which prides itself on being "the first and only national music awards program to celebrate the work of out recording artists," will be held April 24 at the Manhattan Center in New York.

Fourth annual GLAMA nominees:

Female Artist

Catie Curtis

Mary Gauthier

Meg Hentges

Meshell Ndegeocello

SONiA of disappear fear

Toshi Reagon

Male Artist

Casey Collins

Dave Hall

Fred Hersch

Michael Holland

Scott Free

Song of the Year

Amy Ray, Come On Now Social, "Go"

Meg Hentges, Brompton's Cocktail, "This Kind of Love"

Meshell Ndegeocello, Bitter, "Grace"

Frank & John Navin, Pedals, "Miss Tate"

Toshi Reagon, The Righteous Ones, "Happy and Satisfied"

Acoustic/Folk Performance

Dave Hall, Places, "Shenandoah"

Irene Farrera, Soy de Ti, "Soy de Ti"

k.d. lang/Onda Sonora, Red Hot + Lisbon, "Fado Hilario"

Mary Gauthier, Drag Queens in Limousines, "Drag Queens in Limousines"

SONiA of disappear fear, Me,Too, "Me, Too"

Contemporary Spiritual Performance

Christian Andreason, A Boy Called Sue, "Everybody Else"

David North & The Gospel Celebration, I Am Not Ashamed, "Power of Prayer"

Jeannie, Come as You Are (To the Father), "Come as You Are (To the Father)"

Lee Ellis, Michael, "Follow Your Heart"

Marsha Stevens, The Waiting Is Over, "Jesus Wept"

Voices of St. John's MCC, I Came to Magnify the Lord, "Anywhere With Jesus"

Country Performance

David Alan Mors, "Someone to Kiss"

Dennis Hensley, The Water's Fine, "The Water's Fine"

Doug Stevens & The Outband, "From Christopher to Castro"

Mark Islam, The Recent Past, "Beat-up El Camino"

Mary Gauthier, Drag Queens in Limousines, "Drag Queens in Limousines"

SONiA of disappear fear, Me, Too, "My Baby"

Out Recording

Garrin Benfield, Living a Dream, "What You're Hiding"

Indigo Girls, Come On Now Social, "Trouble"

Mary Gauthier, Drag Queens in Limousines, "Evangeline"

Melissa Etheridge, Breakdown, "Scarecrow"

The Aluminum Group, Pedals, "Jinxed"

Rock/Alternative Performance

Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Cast Recording, "Wicked Little Town"

Indigo Girls, Come On Now Social, "Go"

London Suede, Head Music, "Can't Get Enough"

Luscious Jackson, Electric Honey, "Ladyfingers"

Meg Hentges, Brompton's Cocktail, "This Kind of Love"

The Butchies, Population 1975, "More Rock More Talk"

Out Song

Catie Curtis, A Crash Course in Roses, "What's the Matter?"

Emily Saliers, Come On Now Social, "Trouble"

KAMYS, Supremacist, "Trade"

SONiA of disappear fear, Me,Too, "Grass for the Lamb"

The Butchies, Population 1975, "Population 1975"

Producer of the Year

Casey Collins, Casey Collins, "Picturebook," (EP)

Indigo Girls, Indigo Girls, "Trouble," Come On Now Social

SONiA of disappear fear, SONiA of disappear fear, "Lovesick," Me, Too

Thunderpuss2000, Donna Summer, "Love Is the Healer"

Toshi Reagon, Toshi Reagon, "Sweet in the Morning," The Righteous Ones


Cast of Hedwig and the Angry Inch

Indigo Girls

Luscious Jackson

The Aluminum Group

The Butchies

Debut Album

Amy Simpson, Circumstances Strange

Cam Clark, Inside Out

Ellen Rosner, The Perfect Malcontent

Gaye Adegbalola, Bitter Sweet Blues

KAMYS, Supremacist

Patrick Arena and Andy Monroe, Night Cap


Catie Curtis, A Crash Course in Roses

Indigo Girls, Come On Now Social

Irene Farrera, Soy de Ti

Meshell Ndegeocello, Bitter

The Aluminum Group, Pedals

Classical Performance

Kristin Norderval, soprano, Mathew Rosenblum: Ancient Eyes, "Han Shao" from Nu Kuan Tzu

Theresa Bogard, Music of Louise Talma, "Alleluia in Form of a Toccata"

Sara Davis Buechner, Miklos Rozsa: Complete Works for Solo Piano, "Calmo"

Turtle Creek Chorale, The Best of Turtle Creek Chorale, "The Awakening"

Anthony de Mare, pianist, Oblivion, "Adios Nonino" with Maya Beiser, cellist


Brian Lane Green, Truly Human, "The Human Heart"

Charles Cermele, Ask Me Again, "My Shining Hour"

David Gurland, David Gurland, "You Should Know"

Lee Lessack, I Know You by Heart, "I Know You by Heart"

Michael Holland, Darkness Falls, "The Mention of You"

Cast Recording

Cast, Hedwig and the Angry Inch, "Origins of Love"

Elaine Valby, April 15th Blues, "At the Post Office at Midnight"

Steven Brinberg, Simply Barbra, "You Don't Bring Me Flowers"

Tom Bogdan, L'Amour Bleu, "You Do Not Know Me"

Windy City Chorus, Jonathan & David, "Farewell"

Comedy Performance

Elvira Kurt, Kitten With a Wit, "Here's Where I Help"

Michele Balan, Neurotic by Nature, "Old & Neurotic"

Robin Greenspan, Totally Naked, "Therapy/Totally Naked"

Suzanne Westenhoefer, I Am Not Cindy Brady, "Uterus Free"

Dance Music Performance

Boy George, Global Grooves, "When Will You Learn"

Casey Collins, "Lesson of Love"

Joi Cardwell, Deliverance, "Last Chance for Love (Hidden Mix)"

Kevin Aviance, Box of Chocolates, "Rhythm Is My Bitch"

Pet Shop Boys, Night Life, "New York City Boy"

Jazz Performance

Fred Hersch, Let Yourself Go, "Speak Low"

Lea DeLaria, Edge of 17 Soundtrack, "Blue Skies"

Mary Tebbs, Home Made Phase, "Big Mouth"

Michael Holland, Darkness Falls, "Trash"

Zrazy, Private Wars, "Remember"

Pop Performance

Doria Roberts, Restoration, "Perfect"

Luscious Jackson, Electric Honey, "Nervous Breakthrough"

Meshell Ndegeocello, Bitter, "Grace"

Scott Free, The Living Dead, "Not Good Enough"

Toshi Reagon, Righteous Ones, "Happy and Satisfied"

Contemporary Classical Composer

Kristina Boerger (composer), Michael Cameron (lyricist), "Draum om Nedsnodde Bruer," Amasong, AMAI

Byron Au Yong, "Edge (excerpt)," eXchange: China

Ned Rorem, "Even Now," Evidence of Things Not Seen

Mel White (composer), Danny Ray (lyricist), "Psalm 91: The Secret Place," Turtle Creek Chorale, Psalms

Ann Albritton, "Psalm 92: It Is a Good Thing," Turtle Creek Chorale, Psalms

Score for Film & Theater

After the Fair, Stephen Cole (composer), Matthew Ward (lyricist)

Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Stephen Trask

L'Amour Bleu, Tom Bogdan, et al.

The Red Violin, John Corigliano