This Week's Album Releases: Jungle Brothers, Black Rob, Violent Femmes

Also coming out Tuesday are Dirty Three's Whatever You Love, You Are, Dwarves' Come Clean.

Hip-hop pioneers the Jungle Brothers will release V.I.P., their fifth album, on Tuesday. The LP was produced by Alex Gifford of the Propellerheads and features the title-track single. Hardcore rapper Black Rob will release his debut album, Life Story, featuring "Down the Line Joint," recorded with Puff Daddy. Also, the Violent Femmes are putting out Freak Magnet. It includes the single "Sleepwalkin'."


HREF="">Click here for a SonicNet Music News report on Tuesday's releases.)

March 7 album releases:

The Forty-Fives, Get It Together (Ng/Artemis) — British Invasion revivalists from Atlanta release 13-track album of rock 'n' roll in the vein of Chuck Berry and the MC5.

Angie Aparo, The American (Arista) — Debut album from Atlanta folk-pop guitarist and singer/songwriter. Features "Spaceship" and "Memphis City Rain."

The Beatsteaks, Launched (Epitaph) — Second full-length album with 15 cuts of anthemic rock from Berlin.

Belle & Sebastian, Lazy Line Painter Jane (Matador) — Three-disc box collection of folk-pop from Glasgow, Scotland. Features the three EPs — Dog on Wheels, Lazy Line Painter Jane and 3 ... 6 ... 9 Seconds of Light — previously released in 1997.

Black Rob, Life Story (Bad Boy/Arista) — Hardcore rapper delivers debut album. Features "Down the Line Joint" and "Muscle Game." Guest appearances by Puff Daddy, Jennifer Lopez and Ma$e.

Crowbar, Equilibrium (Spitfire) — New Orleans metal band follows up 1998's Odd Fellows Rest. Tracks include "I Feel the Burning Sun" and "Glass Full of Liquid Pain."

The Cult, Ceremony, the Cult, Electric, Love and Sonic Temple (Beggars Banquet) — Re-releases of five albums by English hard-rock band. Originally released between 1985–94, these albums include the hits "Love Removal Machine" (Electric) and "Fire Woman" (Sonic Temple).

The Dirty Three, Whatever You Love, You Are (Touch and Go) — Australian drums, violin and guitar trio deliver album of moody instrumentals. Follows up their 1998 album, Ocean Songs. Includes "Some Summers They Drop Like Flys" and "I Really Should've Gone Out Last Night."

Disturbed, The Sickness (Giant/Reprise) — Heavy, riff-oriented rock from Chicago. Debut features 13 songs, including "Decay" and "Violence Fetish."

Don Dixon, The Invisible Man (Gadfly) — Better known for his production work for bands such as R.E.M. and the Smithereens, singer/songwriter Dixon follows up his 1995 album, Romantic Depressive, with 11 new pop songs. Includes "Invisible & Free" and "Tax the Churches."

The Dwarves, Come Clean (Epitaph) — HeWhoCannotBeNamed and his vile gang follow up 1997's Young and Good Looking with their seventh full-length album of thrash punk.

Emperor Penguin, Mysterious Pony (My Pal God) — Chicago electronica duo deliver third album of deliberately cheesy electro, following up October's Extreme Gaming.

Fireballs of Freedom, Total Fucking Blowout (Estrus) — Twelve-track sophomore album by Portland, Ore., punk-rock band. Follows up 1998's The New Professionals.

Full Devil Jacket, Full Devil Jacket (Mercury) — Eleven tracks of grunge with industrial undertones. Includes "Wanna Be Martyr" and "Mainline." Follows up their A Wax Box to Put Your Frankenstein Heads In EP, released last year.

Giant Sand, Chore of Enchantment (Thrill Jockey) — Tucson, Ariz., rock band releases first record in six years, following up Purge & Slouch (1994). Track listing includes "Punishing Sun" and "1972."

The Gimmicks, Honeymoon's Over (Estrus) — Full-length debut follows up 1998's High Heels EP by Seattle rockers. Ten-song fuzz-drenched track list includes "Strung Out" and "Pull the Trigger."

Iggy & the Stooges Double Danger (Bomp) — Two-CD set featuring previously unreleased live shows recorded in Baltimore (Latin Casino) and New York (Academy of Music) in 1973.

Jungle Brothers, V.I.P. (Gee Street) — Fifth album and follow-up to Raw Deluxe (1997) by New York rap innovators. Produced by Alex Gifford of the Propellerheads. Includes "Get Down" and "Freakin' You" as well as the single "V.I.P."

M2M, Shades of Purple (Atlantic) — First North American release from this Norwegian teen duo features soft pop songs, such as their single "Don't Say You Love Me."

The Mekons, Journey to the End of the Night (Quarterstick) — Longtime indie country-punk chameleons move into new territory with soft and haunting acoustic ballads.

Nerf Herder, How to Meet Girls (Honest Don's) — Pop-punk quartet from Santa Barbara, Calif., delivers 11 songs, including "Courtney," a tribute to Hole leader Courtney Love.

Paul Newman, Machine Is Not Broken (My Pal God) — Third full-length release of intricate indie rock by band with members from Austin, Texas, and Chicago.

Night & Day, Night & Day (Jive) — R&B duo release 13-song album. Includes "Sex Me the Way You Dance," starring Too $hort, and the singles "Dante's Girl" and "Girl, Wear This Ring."

Papas Fritas, Buildings and Grounds (Minty Fresh) — Jangle-pop trio from Boston branch out on third full-length album, which incorporates digital remixing into their catchy pop aesthetic.

Sonny Sixkiller, This Is Your Heaven (Vital Cog) — Second album of hook-filled tunes from poppy quartet led by young singer/guitarist Kara Lafty.

Mary Timony, Mountains (Matador) — Debut solo album from former Helium leader combines unusual guitar work with harpsichord, viola and piano to create a dark, new-wave set of tracks.

Town and Country, Decoration Day EP (Thrill Jockey) — The second release from this Chicago acoustic quartet uses guitar, two-string bass, accordion, piano and harmonium to create layered, slowly unfolding orchestrations.

Trembling Blue Stars, Broken by Whispers (Sub Pop) — Former Field Mice members blend trip-hop and Brit-pop on this collection of dark tracks, including the singles "Doo-Wop Music" and "Dark Eyes."

Violent Femmes, Freak Magnet (Beyond) — Quirky Wisconsin trio release their seventh studio album, following up last year's Viva Wisconsin. Includes the bouncy single "Sleepwalkin'."