Ex-Police Guitarist Wins Gibson Award

Chrissie Hynde, Lyle Lovett, Sheryl Crow, others honored at annual guitar ceremony.

Former Police guitarist Andy Summers was presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2000 Orville H. Gibson Awards on Tuesday (Feb. 22) in Los Angeles. The ceremony, held every year the day before the Grammy Awards, honors guitarists based on voting by music critics and editors of guitar magazines. Other award winners were Jeff Beck, for best male rock guitarist; Chrissie Hynde, for best female rock guitarist; Lyle Lovett, for best male acoustic guitarist; Sheryl Crow, for best female acoustic guitarist; Limp Bizkit's Sam Rivers, for best male bassist; and Aimee Mann, for best female bassist. Buckcherry's Keith Nelson and Orgy's Amir Derakh split the Les Paul Horizon Award for most promising new guitarist. The event raised $60,000 for the Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy Foundation, a New York clinic that uses improvisational music to help severely handicapped and autistic children.