Lauryn Hill Wins Two MTV Video Awards Before Show Begins

Fugees singer honored for 'Doo Wop,' as Fatboy Slim, Garbage, Korn, Marilyn Manson also get early awards.

NEW YORK — Hip-hop and soul singer Lauryn Hill nabbed two

awards at MTV's 16th annual Video Music Awards on Thursday

(Sept. 9) — and the show hadn't even started.

The Grammy-winning Fugees singer was honored for "Doo Wop (That Thing)"

(RealAudio excerpt),

which earned statues for Best R&B Video and Best Art Direction in

awards announced before the Thursday night ceremony.

"I'm here because I'm thrilled to present Lauryn Hill," art-rocker

David Bowie, who is scheduled to introduce Hill on the broadcast,

told MTV's Kurt Loder before the show began.

As the early awards were being announced, stars such as Fugees rapper

Wyclef Jean, pop singer Christina Aguilera, rock-rapper Kid Rock and

Mark McGrath of pop-rockers Sugar Ray arrived via the red carpet

outside the Metropolitan Opera House.

Hardcore rapper Lil' Kim wore a sparkling silver pantsuit with a Grecian look, leaving

her left breast bare save for a strategically placed sequined pastie.

Meanwhile, rockers Smash Mouth played their hit "All Star" for fans

outside, in the pouring rain.

Pop singer Jordan Knight, whose "Give It to You" is up for Best Dance

Video, said this was his first VMA show since he was a member of teen

sensations New Kids on the Block.

It feels so awesome because this business is so fickle," Knight said.

He advised today's teen stars to soak in the fame, work hard and not

take themselves too seriously.

The rain delayed many of the artists' entrances, causing several to

arrive at once. Lenny Kravitz was seen bumping into the cast of

"The Blair Witch Project," while Puff Daddy, the Backstreet Boys and

Jennifer Lopez crowded into one another.

"I like chaos," Gavin Rossdale, singer for the rock band Bush, said.

Other early winners included DJ Fatboy Slim (Best Choreography for

"Praise You"), metal-rappers Korn (Best Editing for "Freak on a Leash"),

electro-pop band Garbage (Best Effects for "Special") and shock-rocker

Marilyn Manson (Best Cinematography for "The Dope Show").

The show itself opened at 8 p.m. EDT with an opera company singing Kid

Rock's "Bawitdaba," which is nominated for two awards, including Best

Rock Video.

The awards show is scheduled to include performances by industrial

band Nine Inch Nails, rapper DMX, Hill and others.

For a list of winners at MTV Online, click here.

(SonicNet is a division of MTV Interactive.)