Punk Hall Of Fame Awards To Be Held In June

The Los Angeles Punk Rock Hall of Fame Awards will be held in Santa

Monica, Calif., on June 5. It will feature performances by several staples

of the city's early punk scene, including some who have not played together

in more than 15 years. Performers and inductees include Los Angeles punk

acts X, the Go-Go's, the Adolescents, the Bags,

Black Flag (with original vocalist Keith Morris), Circle

Jerks and the Weirdos. Lifetime achievement awards will be

presented to KROQ-FM DJ Rodney Bingenheimer and comedian Paul Rubens

(a.k.a. Pee Wee Herman), while scheduled presenters include members of

pop act No Doubt and ska-punksters Rancid. Described as a

tongue-in-cheek ceremony by its organizers, the event will serve as a

closing party for "Forming the Early Days of L.A. Punk," an art exhibit

chronicling the Los Angeles punk scene from 1976 to 1982.