Lauryn Hill Tops List of This Year's Grammy Nominees

Fugees singer and solo artist gets nods in 10 categories, leading list of nominees dominated by female artists.

Fugees singer and solo artist Lauryn Hill topped the list of this year's Grammy nominees announced on Tuesday morning (Jan. 5) in Los Angeles. Hill garnered nods in 10 categories, including Album of the Year and Best New Artist for her solo debut album The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill.

Hill led a group of nominees dominated by female artists, who accounted for all five nominations in the Album of the Year category: Hill, rocker Sheryl Crow, Garbage (fronted by singer Shirley Manson), country star Shania Twain and Madonna are set to go head to head for the Album of the Year award.

Twain and Crow garnered six nominations each, with Madonna close behind with five, and Canadian pop artist Celine Dion and R&B singer Brandy following with four.

Nominees for Record of the Year included the Goo Goo Dolls for "Iris," Dion for the "Titanic" blockbuster "My Heart Will Go On," Twain for "You're Still the One," Madonna for "Ray of Light" and teen singers Brandy and Monica for their their smash duet "The Boy Is Mine."

Wyclef Jean, Hill's bandmate in the hip-hop trio Fugees, is pitted against Hill in Best Rap Solo Performance, with Hill nominated for "Lost Ones" from her critically acclaimed debut, and Wyclef getting the nod for "Gone Till November" from his first solo album, Wyclef Jean Presents the Carnival.

Wyclef, who was on hand to announce nominees along with pop star Natalie Imbruglia, horror-rocker Rob Zombie, ex-basketballer Magic Johnson and R&B singers Monica and Stevie Wonder, was quick to say that being up against his bandmate didn't present a problem for him.

"It's deep, but it's all good," said Wyclef. "It's like being up against [Fugees bandmate] Pras; it's all good."

Nominees in the Song of the Year category included three cuts from soundtracks: the Goo Goo Dolls' "Iris" from "City of Angels," Aerosmith's "I Don't Want to Miss a Thing" from "Armageddon," and Dion's "My Heart Will Go On" from "Titanic" were picked, with gospel singer Kirk Franklin and Twain rounding out the list.

The awards -- the 41st annual edition of the event -- are moving back to L.A. this year after two years in New York. The ceremony will be held at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles on Wednesday, Feb. 24.