Sonic Youth, Sun Ra On Wired CD

Sonic Youth, Adrian Belew, Pietasters, TLC, Beck, Louis Armstrong, Philip Glass...

The first audio release from Wired magazine, Music Futurists, features artists who have been instrumental in the development of electronic music during the past 40 years. The CD, due Feb. 16, traces the evolution of electronica chronologically, from such early innovators as multi-instrumentalist Todd Rundgren and surreal-jazz artist Sun Ra, to contemporary trend-setters including illbient-movement leader DJ Spooky and guitar-rockers Sonic Youth. Track listing: Esquivel's "Granada," Sun Ra's "Plutonian Nights," Steve Reich's "Pulse (excerpt)," Can's "Spoon," Todd Rundgren's "International Feel/Never Never Land," Brian Eno's "2/1," Devo's "Beautiful World," Tangerine Dream's "Cloudburst Flight," Laurie Anderson's "O Superman (For Massenet)," Thomas Dolby's "She Blinded Me With Science," Godley and Creme's "Cry," Sonic Youth's "Schizophrenia," Beck's "Total Soul Future (Eat It)," DJ Spooky's "Thoughts Like Rain" and Ben Neill's "After the Gold Rush."

VMAs 2018