Iggy To Get Tribute Treatment

Never to late for a tribute album, right? Photo by Jay Blakesberg.

Next up, Iggy. The Igster, who if nothing else, has earned his time in the sun

just for sticking around longer than anybody had good reason to expect, will

get the tribute treatment come August with the Royalty Records release, We

Will Fall: A Tribute to Iggy Pop (tentative title).

The album, which

will feature everyone from Iggy disciples like the Misfits and Joan Jett to

contemporaries Joey Ramone and Jayne/Wayne County, will also be a benefit for

the Music Industry Fights AIDS charity, LifeBeat, to whom Pop will be donating

his mechanical royalties and the label will donate a "significant portion" of

net proceeds. The line-up, so far, looks like this:

1) Misfits, "I Got a


2) Nada Surf, "Sick Of You"

3) Life of Agony, "Lust For


4) Sugar Ray, "Tight Pants

5) Monster Magnet, "1970"

6) Bush

Tetras, "I Need Somebody"

7) Joey Ramone, "Loose"

8) NY Loose, "Gimmie


9) Lunachicks, "The Passenger"

10) Jayne County, "Down on the

Street"/ "Little Doll"

11) Joan Jett and the Blackhearts, "I Wanna Be Your

Dog" (previously unreleased live version, tentative)

12) Presidents of the

USA, "TV Eye" (tentative)