Tim Mosenfelder/Getty Images

Childish Gambino Returns With An Epic Song That’s Only Missing Paper Boi

Donald Glover also announced his third Gambino album, which might look familiar to ‘Atlanta’ fans ...

Donald Glover has been crushing the acting game lately, between his hit FX show Atlanta and news of his role in an upcoming Star Wars film. Amid those recent triumphs, though, his fans have been left with a Childish Gambino–size void in their hearts ... until now.

Making this week a little brighter, Glover’s come through with exciting news — on Thursday (November 10), he announced his upcoming third Gambino album, Awaken, My Love!. Shortly after, he dropped the new song “Me and Your Mama,” a sprawling, six-minute epic that finds Glover going rap-less (where’s Paper Boi when you need him?!) and instead taking a much more intense vocal approach. The song begins as a dreamy lullaby, then crashes down into rambling funk-rock as Glover aggressively strains his voice. An extended instrumental section at the end supplies the comedown and infuses more soul into the mix, capping off one hell of an adventurous ride.

Awaken, My Love! drops December 2. The 11-track LP marks the first new Childish Gambino release since 2014’s STN MTN/Kauai, and follows his critically acclaimed sophomore album, 2013’s Because the Internet.

As some eagle-eyed fans pointed out, the artwork for Awaken, My Love! popped up in a scene from “Juneteenth,” the penultimate episode of Atlanta’s first season.

Check out the full tracklist for Awaken, My Love! below.

1. Me and Your Mama

2. Have Some Love

3. Boogieman

4. Zombies

5. Riot

6. Redbone

7. California

8. Terrified

9. Baby Boy

10. The Night Me and Your Mama Met

11. Stand Tall