The National Society of Film Critics Loves 'Amour'

The National Society of Film Critics handed out their annual awards yesterday and the French drama "Amour" was the big winner, earning Best Picture, Best Director for Michael Haneke and Best Actress for Emmanuelle Riva.

Steven Spielberg's historical epic "Lincoln" also took home multiple awards, with Daniel Day-Lewis earning Best Actor honors and writer Tony Kushner winning for best Screenplay. And Paul Thomas Anderson's "The Master" won two prizes as well: Best Supporting Actress for Amy Adams and Best Cinematography for Mihai Malaimare, Jr.

In fact, the only major award not won by those three films was Best Supporting Actor, which went to Matthew McConaughey for his work in both "Magic Mike" and "Bernie." The other two categories voted on by the National Society of Film Critics are Best Non-Fiction, which was awarded to the documentary "The Gatekeepers," and Best Experimental Film, which went to "This Is Not a Film" by Jafar Panahi.

Despite being shut out, "Zero Dark Thirty" still turned in an impressive showing, finishing in the top three in voting for Best Picture, Best Director (Kathryn Bigelow), Best Actress (Jessica Chastain) and Best Cinematography (Greig Fraser ).

Presented each year since 1966, the National Society of Film Critics Awards are voted on by the society's 60 members. Winners will receive a special scroll, much like the winner of the Tri-Wizard Tournament in "Harry Potter."

Here's a full listing of all of this year's winners and runners up, along with the weighted vote totals, courtesy of The Hollywood Reporter:

Best Actor

*1. Daniel Day-Lewis, "Lincoln" – 59

2. Denis Lavant, "Holy Motors" – 49

3. Joaquin Phoenix, "The Master" – 49

Best Actress

*1. Emmanuelle Riva, "Amour" – 50

2. Jennifer Lawrence, "Silver Linings Playbook" - 42

3. Jessica Chastain, "Zero Dark Thirty" – 32

Best Supporting Actor

*1. Matthew McConaughey – "Magic Mike," "Bernie" – 27

2. Tommy Lee Jones, "Lincoln" – 22

3. Philip Seymour Hoffman, "The Master" - 19

Best Supporting Actress

*1. Amy Adams, "The Master"  – 34

2. Sally Field, "Lincoln" – 23

3. Anne Hathaway, "Les Miserables" - 13

Best Picture

*1. "Amour" – 28

2. "The Master" – 25

3. "Zero Dark Thirty" – 18

Best Director

*1. Michael Haneke, "Amour" – 27

2. Kathryn Bigelow, "Zero Dark Thirty" – 24

2. Paul Thomas Anderson, "The Master" - 24

Best Non-Fiction

*1. "The Gatekeepers" – 53

2. "This Is Not a Film" – 45

3. "Searching for Sugar Man" - 23

Best Screenplay

*1. "Lincoln" – 59

2. "The Master" – 27

3. "Silver Linings Playbook" - 19

Best Cinematography

*1. "The Master," Mihai Malaimare, Jr. - 60

2. "Skyfall," Roger Deakins – 30

3. "Zero Dark Thirty," Greig Fraser - 21

Experimental Film

"This Is Not a Film," Jafar Panahi - 60

Movie & TV Awards 2018