'The Master,' 'Looper' and 'Zero Dark Thirty' Pick Up Noms For 2013 WGAs

The Writers Guild of America announced the nominees for their annual WGA Awards today and it was pretty much par for the course, as all the major award season frontrunners that were eligible scored nominations.

In the Original Screenplay category, that meant that "The Master" (written by Paul Thomas Anderson) and "Zero Dark Thirty" (Mark Foal) were joined by "Flight" (John Gatins), "Looper" (Rian Johnson) and "Moonrise Kingdom" (Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola).

And in the Adapted Screenplay category, Oscar favorites "Argo" (Chris Terrio), "Lincoln" (Tony Kushner) and "Silver Linings Playbook" (David O. Russell) were nominated alongside fellow critical favorites "Life of Pi" (David Magee) and "The Perks of Being a Wallflower" (Stephen Chobsky).

Even the surprises weren't really surprising, as the WGA's notoriously arcane eligibility rules led to the disqualification of shoo-ins like Quentin Tarantino's "Django Unchained" and William Nicholson's adaptation of "Les Misérables."

The nominations were rounded out by the choices for Documentary Screenplay: "The Central Park Five" (Sarah Burns, Ken Burns and David McMahon), "The Invisible War" (Kirby Dick), "Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence in the House of God" (Alex Gibney), "Searching for Sugar Man" (Malik Bendejelloul), "We Are Legion: The Story of thr Hacktivists" (Brian Knappenberger) and "West of Memphis" (Amy Berg and Billy McMillin).

The Writers Guild of America Awards, which recognize excellence in screenwriting, have been presented annually since 1949. This year's ceremony, which will be hosted by Nathan Fillion, is set to be held in Los Angeles on Sunday, February 17.