2012 Awards: The L.A. Film Critics Association Is In Love With 'Amour'

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association handed out their year-end awards earlier today and it was writer/director Michael Haneke's French drama "Amour" taking home the top prize for Best Picture. "Amour," which tells the story of an octogenarian couple dealing with a sudden health crisis, previously won the coveted Palme d'Or at this year's Cannes Film Festival.

Also winning big was "The Master," which earned four awards, including Best Director for Paul Thomas Anderson, Best Actor for Joaquin Phoenix and Best Supporting Actress for Amy Adams. "The Master," which debuted to major award season buzz this fall, had previously been overlooked by both the National Board of Review and the New York Film Critics Cricle.

Both of those organizations, which announced their awards last week, threw their weight behind Kathryn Bigelow's "Zero Dark Thirty." The L.A. Film Critics Association, however, only recognized "Zero Dark Thirty" in one category, Best Editing.

In other major categories, "Amour's" Emmanuelle Riva and "Silver Linings Playbook's" Jennifer Lawrence shared Best Actress honors, while newcomer Dwight Henry was a surprise winner in the Best Supporting Actor category for Beasts of the Southern Wild.

The L.A. Film Critics Association has a reputation for offbeat selections — last year their most honored film was Terrence Malick's "Tree of Life" — so how much influence their picks will have on the Oscar race is debatable.

Here's the full list of winners, courtesy of The Los Angeles Times:

Best Director: Paul Thomas Anderson, "The Master."

Best Actor: Joaquin Phoenix, “The Master”

Best Actress (Tie): Jennifer Lawrence, “Silver Linings Playbook" and Emmanuelle Riva, "Amour”

Best Supporting Actor: Dwight Henry, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”

Best Supporting Actress: Amy Adams, “The Master”

Best Animation: “Frankenweenie”

Best Documentary: “The Gatekeepers”

Best Foreign film: "Holy Motors"

Best Cinematography: Roger Deakins, "Skyfall”

Best Screenplay: Chris Terrio, "Argo”

Best Editing: Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg, "Zero Dark Thirty"

Best Music Score: Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin, "Beasts of the Southern Wild"

Production Design: David Crank, Jack Fisk, “The Master”