'Silver Linings' and 'Moonrise Kingdom' Own Independent Spirit Awards Noms

The nominees for the 2013 Independent Spirit Awards were announced earlier today and as predicted by our awards expert, Joe Reid, the proceedings were dominated by a handful of critically acclaimed films, including "The Silver Linings Playbook," "Moonrise Kingdom" and "Beasts of the Southern Wild."

Those three films were joined by "Bernie" and "Keep the Lights On" as Best Feature nominees.

"The Silver Linings Playbook," which is expected to be a major force at this year's Academy Awards, built some award season momentum; besides Best Feature, the film also earned nominations for Best Director (David O. Russell), Best Male Lead (Bradley Cooper), Best Female Lead (Jennifer Lawrence) and Best Screenplay (Russell).

"Moonrise Kingdom," meanwhile, brought in additional nominations for Best Director (Wes Anderson), Best Screenplay (Anderson and Roman Coppola), Best Cinematography (Robert Yeoman) and Best Supporting Male (Bruce Willis), but was shut out in the lead acting categories.

On the other hand, "Beasts of the Southern Wild" star Quvenzhané Wallis, who was only five years old when she auditioned for the film, received a Best Female Lead nomination. The film also earned nods for Best Director (Benh Zeitlin) and Best Cinematography (Ben Richardson).

Other films making a strong showing include "The Sessions," which earned acting nods for both John Hawkes and Helen Hunt, and Best Feature nominee"Bernie," which earned a also landed a Best Male Lead nomination for Jack Black.

The 2013 Independent Spirit Awards will be presented the night before the Oscars, airing on IFC on Saturday, February 28 at 10 p.m. ET. Here's a full list of the nominees:

Best Feature

"Moonrise Kingdom"

"Silver Linings Playbook"

"Beasts of the Southern Wild"

"Keep the Lights On"


Best Director

Wes Anderson - "Moonrise Kingdom"

Julia Loktev - "The Loneliest Planet"

David O. Russell - "Silver Linings Playbook"

Ira Sachs - "Keep the Lights On"

Benh Zeitlin - "Beasts of the Southern Wild"

Best Female Lead

Linda Cardellini - "Return"

Emayatzy Corinealdi - "Middle of Nowhere"

Jennifer Lawrence - "Silver Linings Playbook"

Quvenzhané Wallis - "Beasts of the Southern Wild"

Mary Elizabeth Winstead - "Smashed"

Best Male Lead

Jack Black - "Bernie

Bradley Cooper - "Silver Linings Playbook"

John Hawkes - "The Sessions"

Thure Lindhardt - "Keep the Lights On"

Matthew McConaughey - "Killer Joe"

Wendell Pierce - "Four"

Best Supporting Male

Matthew McConaughey - "Magic Mike"

David Oyelowo - "Middle of Nowhere"

Michael Pena - "End of Watch"

Sam Rockwell - "Seven Psychopaths"

Bruce Willis - "Moonrise Kingdom"

Best Supporting Female

Rosemarie DeWitt - "Your Sister's Sister"

Ann Dowd - "Compliance"

Helen Hunt - "The Sessions"

Brit Marling - "Sound of My Voice"

Lorraine Toussaint - "Middle of Nowhere"

Best First Feature

"Fill the Void" - Rama Burshtein

"Gimme the Loot" - Adam Leon

"Safety Not Guaranteed" - Colin Trevorrow

"Sound of My Voice" - Zal Batmanglij

"The Perks of Being a Wallflower" - Stephen Chbosky

Best International Film

"Amour" (France)

"Once Upon a Time in Anatolia" (Turkey)

"Rust and Bone" (France/Belgium)

"Sister" (Switzerland)

"War Witch" (Democratic Republic of Congo)

Best Documentary

"How to Survive a Plague"

"Marina Abramovic: The Artist is Present"

"The Central park Five"

"The Invisible War"

"The Waiting Room"

Best Cinematography

Yoni Brook - "Valley of Saints"

Lol Crawley - "Here"

Ben Richardson - "Beasts of the Southern Wild"

Roman Vasyanov - "End of Watch"

Robert Yeoman - "Moonrise Kingdom"

Best Screenplay

Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola - "Moonrise Kingdom"

Zoe Kazan - "Ruby Sparks"

Martin McDonagh - "Seven Psychopaths"

David O. Russell - "Silver Linings Playbook"

Ira Sachs and Mauricio Zacharias - "Keep the Lights On"

Best First Screenplay

Rama Burshtein - "Fill the Void"

Derek Connolly - "Safety Not Guaranteed"

Nicholas Jarecki - "Arbitrage"

Rashida Jones and Will McCormack - "Celeste and Jesse Forever"

Jonathan Lisecki - "Gayby"

Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award

Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Verena Paravel

Peter Nicks

Jason Tippet and Elizabeth Mimms

Piaget Producers Award

Alicia Van Couvering

Mynette Louie

Derrick Tseng

Someone to Watch Award

David Fenster - "Pincus"

Adam Leon - "Gimme the Loot"

Rebecca Thomas - "Electrick Children"

John Cassavetes Award

"Breakfast with Curtis"

"Middle of Nowhere"

"Mosquita y Mari"


"The Color Wheel"

Robert Altman Award