Mick Boogie Pulls Together 'Brooklyn Originals'

Like Lizzy Goodman pointed out earlier this week, music in whichever way we can get it has been a welcome reprieve for New Yorkers looking for some normalcy after Hurricane Sandy. One of the storm's many casualties was the Nets-Knicks homeopener at the Barclay's Center. Mick Boogie, XXL and Slam Magazine had put together this Brooklyn Originals mixtape, a 28-minute stream of exclusive tracks from Brooklyn staples new and old and decided to release it this week, despite the cancellation of the game.

Brooklyn vets MC LyteTalib Kweli and Busta Rhymes exchange punchy verses and blog favorites like Tanya Morgan, Maffew Ragazino, Mr. MFN eXquire, Nitty Scott MC and Torae all get a chance to floss, too. It's a bout of rugged finesse, and we expect nothing less from a group of resurgent New Yorkers.


1) Intro: Donwill & Spec Boogie (Produced by nVMe)

2) MC Lyte: Dope Style (Produced by Caviar & OZ)

3) Troy Ave: Dope Boy (Produced by DJ Uneek)

4) CJ Fly/Kirk Knight/Rokamouth: And Eye Ain't Late (Produced by Backpack Beatz)

5) Talib Kweli & Busta Rhymes: Follow The Leader

6) Tanya Morgan: Gatekeepers (Produced by Von Pea)

7) Maffew Ragazino: Got 2 Love It (Produced by Bink!)

8) Mr. MFN eXquire: Draped In Gold (Brooklyn Originals Interlude)

9) Nitty Scott, MC: Queen Of Kings (Produced by 6th Sense)

10) Skyzoo and Torae: Talk Shit (Produced by nVMe)

11) Outro: Sene. (Produced by Chi Duly)