Dntel's "Check Yo' Ponytail 2" -- Exclusive Mixtape

For Jimmy Tamborello, a cancellation of UK ambient techno/rock group Seefeel at influential Los Angeles party Check Yo' Ponytail inspired as much as disappointed. Best known for his work as Dntel and one-half of electronic pop act the Postal Service, Tamborello compiled the Check Yo' Ponytail 2 mixtape, imagining "what I'd want to hear on the way home after seeing [Seefeel] play songs that had a big impact on my musical upbringing."

While the show never happened, the mix is a 35-minute exploration of atmospheric, ambient sounds; it's meditative and tranquil, drawing from both contemporary and older electronic musicians, including Norwegian found-sound duo Deaf Center, Ambient techno producer Thomas Koner, the XX's Jamie XX and cult-experimental group Psychic TV.

Ponytail 2's common thread is a reverent admiration for the moody and atmospheric, eschewing beats and rhythm for a sonic imagining of idyllic, pastoral settings. "I did the mix in Ableton Live so I could loop or re-pitch parts of songs and add effects to make everything mush together," Tamborello explains. "It's nice to have a mix like this to put on in the van on late-night-post-show drives when everyone's zoning out. So my mix's journey has a happy ending."

Dntel's first album, Life is Full of Possibilities, will be reissued by Sub Pop on October 25. For a primer on the Check Yo' Ponytail parties, check out this recent retrospective video.


Check Yo' Ponytail 2 mixtape tracklist:

1. Jamie XX – Far Nearer

2. Thomas Köner – Teimo (Schluss)

3. Ezekiel Honig – A Closed Loop That Opens Everywhere

4. Aybee – Slyde

5. Psychic TV – Deadcat

6. Rafael Toral – A

7. Nick Carter – All This Sky and All This Sea

8. Deaf Center – Path To Lucy

9. Ricardo Villalobos & Max Loderbauer – Rekondakion

10. Enya – Epona

11. Leyland Kirby – Ruined Visions

12. Trouble Books & Mark McGuire – Life In A Peaceful New World