Vedder Turns to Ukulele for New Solo Album

[caption id="attachment_815" align="aligncenter" width="630" caption="Eddie Vedder, July 2010 in Mestre, Italy. Photo: Roberto Serra/Iguana Press/Getty Images"][/caption]

Consider the ukulele to be officially in vogue, as Pearl Jam’s frontman Eddie Vedder announced today (Mar. 21) that he’ll release Ukulele Songs, a solo album that features just him and the itty bitty stringed instrument. Due May 31, the 16-song set features both originals and cover tunes, as well as contributions from the Swell Season’s Glen Hansard and Cat Power.

Ukulele Songs marks the first solo venture from Vedder 2007’s soundtrack to Into the Wild.  If that’s not enough for the Vedder faithful, a live concert DVD is due out the same day, culling from two solo performances at Washington D.C.’s Warner Theater back on August 16 and 17, 2008.

Here's the track list for Ukulele Songs:

1. Can't Keep

2. Sleeping by Myself

3. Without You

4. More Than You Know

5. Goodbye

6. Broken Heart

7. Satellite

8. Longing to Belong

9. Hey Fahkah

10. You're True

11. Light Today

12. Sleepless Nights (featuring Glen Hansard)

13. Once in Awhile

14. Waving Palms

15. Tonight You Belong to Me (featuring Cat Power)

16. Dream a Little Dream