Special Saturn Awards Announced For Robert Kirkman, Frank Oz, James Remar, and 'The Simpsons'

The 38th annual celebration of horror, sci-fi, and fantasy will be doling out special achievement awards at this year's ceremony.

Director, actor, and puppeteer Frank Oz is receiving the Life Career Award, most notably for his work alongside Jim Henson co-directing The Dark Crystal, as well as going solo on the likes of the 80's version of Little Shop of Horrors.

Kirkman is receiving the the Innovator Award for his work as Executive Producer on AMC's The Walking Dead, along with his work flipping his comic properties to film and television. The official announcement gives a shoutout to season one showrunner Frank Darabont.

For sheer longevity, The Simpsons will be receiving the Milestone Award after becoming the longest-running sitcom on American TV.

Finally, actor James Remar, who's been in everything from 48 Hours to Battlestar Galactica will also be receiving a Life Career Award. You can see him regularly as Harry Morgan, father to the Dexter anti-hero.

The Saturn Awards will take place on July 26th. You can get more details on their Facebook page.

Related posts:

Watch An Exclusive Extended Clip From "Superman Vs. The Elite"...With An Intro by Supes Himself!

Interview: Animating the Grid With 'TRON: Uprising' Writers Eddie Kitsis, Adam Horowitz, and Director Charlie Bean


Follow @MTVMultiplayer on Twitter and be sure to "like" us on Facebook for the best geek news about comics, toys, gaming and more! And don’t forget to follow our video gaming and TV writer @TheCharlesWebb.