This Year's Hugo Award Noms Include Doctor Who, Game of Thrones...and Community?!

“The Game of Chaos” illustration by Yehudi Mercado of Super Mercado.

The nominees for The Hugo Awards  -- essentially the Oscars or Grammys of the sci-fi world -- were announced this Saturday. Noms were given to Doctor Who, Game of Thrones, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, and, well, Martin Scorsese's Hugo. The biggest surprise in the bunch? A nod to the Community episode "Remedial Chaos Theory" for Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form.

Leviathan Wakes by James S. A. Corey, George R.R. Martin's A Dance With Dragons, and Embassytown by China Miéville were among the nominees for Best Novel, while volumes of Locke & Key, Fables and The Unwritten all got nods for Best Graphic Story. Doctor Who largely swept the Best Dramatic Presentation Short Form category, while Game of Thrones, Harry Potter, Hugo, Captain America and Source Code were all nominated for Best Dramatic Presentation Long Form.

Community is no stranger to science-fiction/fantasy type narratives, with episodes tackling such topics as zombie outbreaks to using a "dreamatorium." But "Remedial Chaos Theory," the story about multiple timelines being created as the result of a dice roll, took the idea to a whole different level (including the creation of a "Darkest Timeline" universe.

The Hugos will be announced at Chicon 7, Chicago, Illinois, August 30-September 3, 2012. The full list of nominees is below:

Best Novel

•Among Others, Jo Walton (Tor)

•A Dance With Dragons, George R. R. Martin (Bantam Spectra)

•Deadline, Mira Grant (Orbit)

•Embassytown, China Miéville (Macmillan / Del Rey)

•Leviathan Wakes, James S. A. Corey (Orbit)

Best Novella

•Countdown, Mira Grant (Orbit)

•“The Ice Owl”, Carolyn Ives Gilman (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction)

•“Kiss Me Twice”, Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov’s)

•“The Man Who Bridged the Mist”, Kij Johnson (Asimov’s)

•“The Man Who Ended History: A Documentary”, Ken Liu (Panverse 3)

•Silently and Very Fast, Catherynne M. Valente (WSFA)

Note: 6 nominees due to tie for final position.

Best Novelette

•“The Copenhagen Interpretation”, Paul Cornell (Asimov’s)

•“Fields of Gold”, Rachel Swirsky (Eclipse Four)

•“Ray of Light”, Brad R. Torgersen (Analog)

•“Six Months, Three Days”, Charlie Jane Anders (

•“What We Found”, Geoff Ryman (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction)

Best Short Story

•“The Cartographer Wasps and the Anarchist Bees”, E. Lily Yu (Clarkesworld)

•“The Homecoming”, Mike Resnick (Asimov’s)

•“Movement”, Nancy Fulda (Asimov’s)

•“The Paper Menagerie”, Ken Liu (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction)

•“Shadow War of the Night Dragons: Book One: The Dead City: Prologue”, John Scalzi (

Best Related Work

•The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, Third Edition, edited by John Clute, David Langford, Peter Nicholls, and Graham Sleight (Gollancz)

•Jar Jar Binks Must Die…and other Observations about Science Fiction Movies, Daniel M. Kimmel (Fantastic Books)

•The Steampunk Bible: An Illustrated Guide to the World of Imaginary Airships, Corsets and Goggles, Mad Scientists, and Strange Literature, Jeff VanderMeer and S. J. Chambers (Abrams Image)

•Wicked Girls (CD), Seanan McGuire

•Writing Excuses, Season 6 (podcast series), Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Howard Tayler, Mary Robinette Kowal, and Jordan Sanderson

Best Graphic Story

•Digger, by Ursula Vernon (Sofawolf Press)

•Fables Vol 15: Rose Red, by Bill Willingham and Mark Buckingham (Vertigo)

•Locke & Key Volume 4: Keys To The Kingdom, written by Joe Hill, illustrated by Gabriel Rodriguez (IDW)

•Schlock Mercenary: Force Multiplication, written and illustrated by Howard Tayler, colors by Travis Walton (The Tayler Corporation)

•The Unwritten (Volume 4): Leviathan, created by Mike Carey and Peter Gross, written by Mike Carey, illustrated by Peter Gross (Vertigo)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

•Captain America: The First Avenger, screenplay by Christopher Markus and Stephan McFeely; directed by Joe Johnston (Marvel)

•Game of Thrones (Season 1), created by David Benioff and D. B. Weiss;

written by David Benioff, D. B. Weiss, Bryan Cogman, Jane Espenson, and George R. R. Martin; directed by Brian Kirk, Daniel Minahan, Tim van Patten, and Alan Taylor (HBO)

•Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, screenplay by Steve Kloves; directed by David Yates (Warner Bros.)

•Hugo, screenplay by John Logan; directed by Martin Scorsese (Paramount)

•Source Code, screenplay by Ben Ripley; directed by Duncan Jones (Vendome Pictures)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

•Doctor Who, ”The Doctor’s Wife”, written by Neil Gaiman; directed by Richard Clark (BBC Wales)

•“The Drink Tank’s Hugo Acceptance Speech”, Christopher J Garcia and James Bacon (Renovation)

•Doctor Who, ”The Girl Who Waited”, written by Tom MacRae; directed by Nick Hurran (BBC Wales)

•Doctor Who, ”A Good Man Goes to War”, written by Steven Moffat; directed by Peter Hoar (BBC Wales)

•Community, ”Remedial Chaos Theory”, written by Dan Harmon and Chris McKenna; directed by Jeff Melman (NBC)

Best Semiprozine

•Apex Magazine, edited by Catherynne M. Valente, Lynne M. Thomas, and Jason Sizemore

•Interzone, edited by Andy Cox

•Lightspeed, edited by John Joseph Adams

•Locus, edited by Liza Groen Trombi, Kirsten Gong-Wong, et al.

•New York Review of Science Fiction, edited by David G. Hartwell, Kevin J. Maroney, Kris Dikeman, and Avram Grumer

Best Fanzine

•Banana Wings, edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer

•The Drink Tank, edited by James Bacon and Christopher J Garcia

•File 770, edited by Mike Glyer

•Journey Planet, edited by James Bacon, Christopher J Garcia, et al.

•SF Signal, edited by John DeNardo

Best Fancast

•The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan & Gary K. Wolfe

•Galactic Suburbia Podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Alex Pierce, and Tansy Rayner Roberts (presenters) and Andrew Finch (producer)

•SF Signal Podcast, John DeNardo and JP Frantz (presenters), Patrick Hester (producer)

•SF Squeecast, Lynne M. Thomas, Seanan McGuire, Paul Cornell, Elizabeth Bear, and Catherynne M. Valente

•StarShipSofa, Tony C. Smith

Best Editor, Long Form

•Lou Anders

•Liz Gorinsky

•Anne Lesley Groell

•Patrick Nielsen Hayden

•Betsy Wollheim

Best Editor, Short Form

•John Joseph Adams

•Neil Clarke

•Stanley Schmidt

•Jonathan Strahan

•Sheila Williams

Best Professional Artist

•Dan dos Santos

•Bob Eggleton

•Michael Komarck

•Stephan Martiniere

•John Picacio

Best Fan Artist

•Brad W. Foster

•Randall Munroe

•Spring Schoenhuth

•Maurine Starkey

•Steve Stiles

•Taral Wayne

Note: 6 nominees due to tie for final position.

Best Fan Writer

•James Bacon

•Claire Brialey

•Christopher J. Garcia

•Jim C. Hines

•Steven H Silver

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

•Mur Lafferty

•Stina Leicht

•Karen Lord

•Brad R. Torgersen

•E. Lily Yu

Related Posts:

EXCLUSIVE! Kim Newman's 'Anno Dracula' Returns With 'The Bloody Red Baron'

George R. R. Martin Surprises Us With A Reading From "The Winds Of Winter"


Discuss this story in our Movies/TV forums! Follow @MTVGeek on Twitter and be sure to "like" us on Facebook for the best geek news about comics, toys, gaming and more!