‘Locke & Key’ TV Series Receives Pilot Order

The Walking Dead” isn’t the only comic book television series haunting the Halloween season. Appropriately enough, it appears that the holiday has provided a major treat for fans of IDW Publishing’s “Locke & Key” comic book series.

Already announced as in development, the planned “Locke & Key” television adaptation has officially received the green light for a pilot episode on the Fox network. According to Deadline, Fox is eyeing “Locke & Key” as a potential summer series.

Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles” creator Josh Friedman is credited as the writer of the “Locke & Key” adaptation, with frequent collaborators and “Cowboys & Aliens” co-writers Alex Kurtzman and Roberto Orci attached as producers. The project also comes courtesy of DreamWorks TV, though Steven Spielberg does not appear to be involved as was previously reported.

“Locke & Key” tells the story of the Locke siblings — Tyler, Kinsey and Bode — who move to the Keyhouse Mansion in Lovecraft, Massachusetts alongside their mother following the murder of their father. At Keyhouse, the Lockes discover all sorts of supernatural abnormalities in the mansion, including doors that lead into different worlds and grant the kids with special powers.

The critically acclaimed horror comic book series is written by Joe Hill and illustrated by Gabriel Rodriguez. Hill is the son of noted horror novelist Stephen King. The series is currently in the midst of its fourth arc, “Keys to the Kingdom.”

Tell us what you think of the news in the comments section and on Twitter!