Alanis Morissette Prepping Return to Form With First Disc In Four Years, Havoc and Bright Lights

By Zachary Swickey

Former keeper of Ryan Reynold’s affection, pop-rock singer-songwriter Alanis Morissette, is preparing to release a new studio album, her first since ‘08’s Flavors of Entanglement (which was inspired by her and Reynolds calling off their engagement).

Morissette’s newest effort will be her first release not on Warner Music Group with Collective Sounds releasing her seventh disc, Havoc and Bright Lights on August 28.

The “Ironic” singer seems to be taking a different (perhaps more current and commercial) direction with her latest release, teaming with UK producer Guy Sigsworth, an eclectic producer who has worked with Bjork, Madonna and helped start Seal’s career, and Joe Chiccarelli, who skews rock having helmed works for Young the Giant, The Strokes and Jazon Mraz, for the album.

We will have to wait until May 15 before the album’s first single, “Guardian,” becomes available on iTunes store (and four days later on radio). However, a new Morissette tune “Magical Child” was released just last week as part of Starbucks’ Every Mother Counts Volume 2 Mother’s Day compilation. The tune is rather lullaby-esque but might help shine some light on the direction of the singer’s new album.

Read on to listen to “Child” and check out the tracklisting for Morissette’s new album.

Embedded from