Bon Iver's Justin Vernon Prepares First Release On His Chigliak Imprint

Bon Iver

By Zachary Swickey

Did you know that Bon Iver’s crooner Justin Vernon has his own imprint on his home label, Jagjaguwar Records? Vernon’s equally tongue-twisting Chigliak imprint has been gestating since 2010 and now it appears the label is finally ready for its first release: a reissue by Wisconsin troupe Amateur Love.

This comes as no surprise since Amateur Love is from Vernon’s home town of Eau Claire, Wisconsin, and he first mentioned reissuing the band’s ’03 debut It’s All Aquatic to Pitchfork back in 2010.

The reissue is expected to drop May 22 digitally as well as appearing in 12” vinyl form, which will be accompanied by a download of some previously unreleased 2004 songs from the group – being dubbed the Ev Sessions.

Vernon explained in a press release that Amateur Love was “the singular catalyst in founding Chigliak.” He continued:

“[Amateur Love's] Josh Scott was the ambassador of my heart for many years. While both songwriters in Eau Claire, we were close friends and admired each other’s music. It was obvious to both of us, however, who the better writer was. Josh was writing songs that were both more mature and masterful than mine. His songs came from a perspective as snarly as Paul Westerberg, as enchanting as Neil Young, yet he wielded power as beguiling and unique as any songwriter I've ever heard. Nestling himself around Brad and Phil Cook (Megafaun) and Brian Moen (Peter Wolf Crier, Laarks and Shouting Matches), who stretched themselves outside their own comfort zones into those of un-tapped electronic pop, Amateur Love became one of the most enigmatic and electrifying bands I have ever known. With local-legend Jaime Hansen engineering, the band was caught at the rise to their peak of musical power on It's All Aquatic in 2003.”

Check out the tracklisting for It's All Aquatic below.

Tracklisting for It's All Aquatic:

1. “Huddle”

2. “Con/A Sewer/Cat”

3. “(Absolut Fiction)”

4. “Sell Me Your Army”

5. “Numbers”

6. “Gradfadhadya”

7. “Ether Egg Hunt”

8. “I Need You Now”

9. “Say You're Mine”

Movie & TV Awards 2018