Best Coast Announces Release Of Sophomore Effort, The Only Place


By Zachary Swickey

It hasn’t even been two years since Best Coast released their critical favorite debut, Crazy for You, and the band is already prepared to unleash their sophomore effort. The Only Place, on May 15.

The title track of the album is an ode to frontwoman Bethany Cosentino’s home state of California, as is the cover art, which was apparently inspired by a piece of sheet music from 1913.

The disc was helmed by eclectic producer Jon Brion, who has worked with everyone from Kanye West to Of Montreal and most recently produced an acoustic version of Katy Perry’s “The One That Got Away” (which seems to be favored over the original version).

Best Coast’s new set includes some fresh recording of many previously released songs from the group, among them: “Up All Night” appeared on a limited edition 7” two years ago, “Dreaming My Life” was an online B-side from ’09 and “How They Want Me to Be” was posted on the band’s blog last summer to show the direction of the new album.

“That was the direction I wanted to move in, as far as writing more ballads,” she told the LA Times of “Be.” “I wanted people to hear that we weren’t going to write ‘Boyfriend’ 14 times again.”

Cosentino elaborated further, saying, “We didn’t want to make a record that was like, ‘Whoa, what happened to Best Coast? This isn’t Beast Coast.’ We wanted to do something a little bit more mature and grown up.”

Check out the album tracklist below.

The Only Place tracklist:
1. The Only Place
2. Why I Cry
3. Last Year
4. My Life
5. No One Like You
6. How They Want Me to Be
7. Better Girl
8. Do You Love Me Like You Used To
9. Dreaming My Life Away
10. Let’s Go Home
11. Up All Night