Tenacious D Detail First Album In Six Years

By Zachary Swickey

Many a moon has passed since the last Tenacious D album – six years to be exact – but all that is about to change now that the duo has revealed details behind their newest effort: Rize Of The Fenix.

The D, who consist of quirky actor Jack Black and comedian Kyle Gass, have surprised us all by announcing their third album will be dropping in a few months, on May 15 – their first since ‘06’s The Pick of Destiny, which was actually a soundtrack for a film of the same name.

Foo Fighters frontman Dave Grohl will once again helm drums for the disc (he did the same for D’s two previous efforts). Grohl also notoriously played Satan himself in the group’s music video for “Tribute.”
The effort was produced by John Kimbrough, a long-time Tenacious D collaborator, at his home in Los Angeles. The album is expected to include 13 songs.

The only date Tenacious D has on their schedule is a summer appearance at the UK’s Download Festival, which is headlined by Metallica and the reunited Black Sabbath from June 8-10. However, more dates will surely crop up with the announcement of the D’s third release.

Check out the tracklisting for Rize Of The Fenix below.

“Rize Of The Fenix”
“Low Hangin’ Fruit”
“Classical Teacher”
“Deth Starr”
“Flutes and Trombones”
“Ballad of Hollywood Jack and the Rage Kage”
“Rock Is Dead”
“They Fucked Our Asses”
“To Be The Best”