‘Footloose’ Soundtrack Faithful To Original But With New Twist, Says Hunter Hayes

By Kara Warner

For the “Footloose” purists out there, i.e. those who can’t believe they’ve remade the film and the soundtrack, everyone involved with the reboot knows where you’re coming from and they promise they haven’t done anything to dull the Kevin Bacon-tastic sheen off the 1984 original.

One of the many things to look and listen for when you see the film is the updated soundtrack, which features tracks by Blake Shelton, Victoria Justice and The Smashing Pumpkins, to name a few. MTV News hit up the premiere of the new film Monday night where we encountered up-and-coming artists Hunter Hayes (he toured with Taylor Swift this summer) and Jana Kramer, who opened up about their versions of classics “Almost Paradise” and “Let’s Hear It For The Boy.”


“I spent three days in the studio just singing and obsessing over it to make sure I did it right,” Hayes said of his work on “Almost Paradise,” which also features “Victorious” star Justice. “I stayed close to the original, but did my own interpretation as well. It was a careful balance, but it was a track that I’m really proud of when we finished, and I’m really proud that it’s in the movie, it’s an opportunity of a lifetime.”

Look out for Hayes’ debut album out next week, along with a possible Taylor Swift collaboration in the future?

“I definitely got to hang out with her, I told her the last time I’m still kind of speechless [around her], I’m like, ‘You’re a star! I’m starstruck by you,’ but she’s super cool though, super cool personality and that tour was a blast.” (Not a real yes or no answer to that question, but an artful dodge, nonetheless)

Kramer, who you might recognize if you’re a “One Tree Hill” fan, admitted to being freaked out to re-record Deneice Williams’ hit.

“It was so much fun. I was terrified, but it was fun. First of all, that’s my favorite song on the [original] soundtrack and I didn’t know if I would be able to do it justice,” she admitted. “But I put my twist on it.”

Writer’s note: The re-arranged, slowed-down version of “Holding Out For A Hero” is a MUST-listen. It’s so brilliant and unique, I’ll be hunting down the talented parties responsible real soon.

Here’s the track list of the entire album, give it a listen and let us know what you think!

1. “Footloose” – Blake Shelton
2. “Where The River Goes” – Zac Brown Band
3. “Little Lovin’” – Lissie
4. “Holding Out For A Hero” – Ella Mae Bowen
5. “Let’s Hear It For The Boy” – Jana Kramer
6. “So Sorry Mama” – Whitney Duncan
7. “Fake I.D.” – Big & Rich feat. Gretchen Wilson
8. “Almost Paradise” – Victoria Justice & Hunter Hayes
9. “Walkin’ Blues” – Cee Lo Green feat. Kenny Wayne Shepherd
10. “Window Paine” – The Smashing Pumpkins
11. “Suicide Eyes” – A Thousand Horses
12. “Dance The Night Away” – David Banner