How To Win 'America's Best Dance Crew'

By Ben Hockin

The fourth season of MTV's "America's Best Dance Crew" premieres this Sunday! Want to know who is going to win it all? It might help to take a look back at the winners from the first three seasons — JabbaWockeeZ (season 1), Super Cr3w (season 2), and Quest Crew (season 3) to see what they have in common.

It seems the most intriguing and most important of similarities is each crew (either as a whole or in part) has competed in another TV talent show, such as NBC's "America's Got Talent," "Star Search," and Fox's "So You Think You Can Dance." JabbaWockeeZ made their television debut in 2007's inaugural season of "America's Got Talent," where they were eliminated during the first call-back round. However, the very next year they went on to win "ABDC." In 2003, members of Super Cr3w appeared on CBS's "Star Search" — Jon Cruz was a three-time champion and Ronnie Abaldonado and Ben Honrubia (performing with Knucklehead Zoo) made it to the semifinals. Five of the 10 members of Quest Crew (who must have the coolest haircuts in "ABDC" history) competed in "So You Think You Can Dance" — Ryan "Ryanimay" Conferido was a finalist on the show's first season, and Hokuto "Hok" Konishi, Victor Kim and Steve Terada all competed in the second season but failed to reach the top 20. Hok and Dominic "D-Trix" Sandoval both competed in the third season, with Hok making it into the top 20 and D-Trix finishing in the top 10.

In addition, all three crews are all male — to date, not a single female has taken the title.

And there's also location — if you are from the East Coast, you might want to consider relocating to the West. JabbaWockeeZ and Quest Crew are both from California, and not far east from there lies the home base for Super Cr3w (Las Vegas). It could be the water or it could be the heat, but either way it seems it doesn't hurt to live closer to the Pacific if you want to be America's Best Dance Crew.

Oh yeah, did I mention that years of practice improve your odds? Quest Crew had four years of practicing before winning in "ABDC" in 2009, and it took JabbaWockeeZ five years to make their mark and win the first season. Super Cr3w's eight years of persistence paid off, as the group formed in 2000 and won the competition in 2008.


So when you're watching this season of "ABDC," keep these similarities in mind — they might help you predict a winner.