We Feel Conflicted About the Union of Sonic Youth & Starbucks

So as many of you know by now, alt-rock godparents/gurus Sonic Youth are releasing the compilation Hits Are For Squares exclusively through Starbucks next month. (Starbucks? It’s that little mom & pop coffee shop by your house, and the house of every single individual you know.) And, being mature and comfortable with how basically every band has the right to cash in at some point, we wish we could actually get over this news. But instead, we are troubled, conflicted, perturbed.

First off, there’s, you know, the obvious: Why would one of the hippest bands on the planet, one of the few that’s been around for nearly 30 years without ever having a Mick-Jagger-in-spandex moment (remember "Dancing in the Streets"?), choose to release their music through the mocha-mega-frappo-latte outlet that pushes Mandy Moore CDs on you at the checkout? (Yes, we know they’ve also released much better fare, but you get what we’re talking about.) This is a bit like taking a reduced-fat cinnamon coffee cake and smearing it across the cover of Daydream Nation.

Secondly –- and actually more troubling! –- is this business with the celebrities. Because, in case you hadn’t noticed, this is a compilation of songs selected by famous people. Some of the “curators” we get, like Beck, Mike D, Raidohead, Gus Van Sant, Chloe Sevigny, and, hell, even Dave Eggers. We’d like to know what their favorite Sonic Youth tracks are. But what for freak’s sake are Portia De Rossi and Diablo Cody doing on this??

The complete track list after the jump.

“Bull in the Heather” selected by Catherine Keener

“100%” selected by Mike D

“Sugar Kane” selected by Beck

“Kool Thing” selected by Radiohead

“Disappearer” selected by Portia De Rossi

“Superstar” selected by Diablo Cody

“Stones” selected by Allison Anders

“Tuff Gnarl” selected by Dave Eggers and Mike Watt

“Teenage Riot” selected by Eddie Vedder

“Shadow of a Doubt” selected by Michelle Williams

“Rain on Tin” selected by Flea

“Tom Violence” selected by Gus Van Zant

“Mary-Christ” selected by David Cross

“World Looks Red” selected by Chloe Sevigny

“Expressway to Yr Skull” selected by Flaming Lips

“Slow Revolution” exclusive new Sonic Youth recording