'Breaking Dawn' Officially Announced As Two Films

File this news under "things we saw coming a mile away": the fourth book in the "Twlight Saga" series, "Breaking Dawn" is going to be broken up into two films, with the first (as we already knew) arriving in theaters November 18, 2011.

Summit Entertainment's confirmation of what we all had been speculating for a long time comes just 19 days before "Eclipse" premieres and while it's nice to know that we can all finally (!) feel safe to refer to "BD" as an official two-parter, we still don't know exactly how the production on the grand finale will work. The release states production will begin on "Breaking Dawn" this fall, but only time will tell if that means both parts will film all at once (ala "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows").

Check out after the full press release after the jump!




First Film to Arrive in Theatres November 18, 2011

Los Angeles, CA, June 10, 2010 – Summit Entertainment confirmed today that THE TWILIGHT SAGA: BREAKING DAWN will be released as two separate films with the first of the two slated to be released in theatres on November 18, 2011. Academy Award® winner Bill Condon will direct both films starring Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattinson and Taylor Lautner along with Billy Burke as Charlie Swan as well as returning members of the Cullen Family including Peter Facinelli as Carlisle, Elizabeth Reaser as Esme, Jackson Rathbone as Jasper, Nikki Reed as Rosalie, Ashley Greene as Alice and Kellan Lutz as Emmett.

The project, based on the fourth novel in author Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight series, is currently being written by Melissa Rosenberg with Wyck Godfrey, Karen Rosenfelt and Stephenie Meyer producing. The TWILIGHT SAGA: BREAKING DAWN will start production in the Fall.

THE TWILIGHT SAGA: BREAKING DAWN illuminates the secrets and mysteries of this spellbinding romantic epic that has entranced millions.

The third film in the franchise, THE TWILIGHT SAGA: ECLIPSE is due in theaters on June 30, 2010.