Michelle Obama Releasing Hip-Hop Album For 'Let’s Move' Campaign

By Nakiya Morgan

In an effort to solve the problem of child obesity, The White House is calling on the hip-hop community to help this generation get more active and achieve their goals. Michelle Obama and her “Let’s Move Campaign” are teaming up with the Partnership for a Healthier America and Hip Hop Public Health to promote and release a hip-hop album focused on the cause.

With its initial launch back in 2012, the Let’s Move campaign has been making significant progress towards its main goal to solve childhood obesity and keep kids moving. Music has always been a huge influence on children and the First Lady is ready to take advantage of this by releasing a 19-song Hip Hop album, followed by 10 music videos.

"Throughout history, music has been a great teacher and motivator, from ABC’s and nursery rhymes to religious hymns and national anthems,” said Dr. Olajide Williams, founder of Hip Hop Public Health. “ It is time to harness this power for health.”

So many kids listen to Hip Hop so why not “give these messages to kids in a way that’s not preachy.” Sam Kass, Let’s Move executive director and White House assistant chef explained the significance behind this Hip Hop album and their imitative.

“I think hip hop in particular – so many kids love hip hop. It’s such a core part of our culture,” he said. “…Particularly in the African- American community and the Latino community which is being disproportionately affected by those health issues.”

Songs for a Healthier America is said to be released on September 30 and will feature artists such as Run DMC, Doug E. Fresh, Ashanti, Jordin Sparks and Ariana Grande.

Dr. Oz even gets to spit a few rhymes of his own on the upcoming album. The videos that will follow the album’s release will be distributed to 40 schools within the New York City area before expanding to other major cities.

Songs for a Healthier America Tracklisting

1. “U R What You Eat” (Salad Bar: Matisyahu, Ariana Grande, Travis Barker)

2. “Everybody” (Jordin Sparks, Doug E. Fresh, Dr Oz, Ryan Beatty, Hip Hop MD)

3. “Let’s Move” (Doug E. Fresh, Artie Green, Chauncey Hawkins)

4. “Just Believe” (Ashanti, Gerry Gunn, Artie Green, Robbie Nova)

5. “Veggie Luv” (Monifah and J Rome)

6. “Hip Hop FEET” (DMC and Artie Green)

7. “Stronger” (Shayna Steele, Jeremy Jordan, Our Time Theater kids, and E-Street Band guitarist Nils Lofgren)

8. “Give Myself A Try” (Ryan Beatty)

9. ”Jump Up” (Brady Rymer and the Little band that Could)

10. “Hip Hop LEAN” (Artie Green)

11. “Pass the Rock” (Iman Schumpert and Artie Green)

12. “Good Living” (Ashton Jones)

13. “Beautiful” (Daisy Grant and Artie Green)

14. “Change The Game” (The Happiness Club, featuring Naledge)

15. “Wanna Jump (Let’s Move)” (Paul Burch)

16. “Mother May I” (Amelia Robinson)

17. “We Like Vegetables” (Los Barkers!)

18. “Get Up Sit Up” (Babi Floyd)

19. “One Step Forward” (Samite)

Check out the video for the first single “Everybody” above.