Pharrell And Quincy Jones Take Home Top Honors At ASCAP's Rhythm And Music Soul Awards

By Rob Markman

The 2012 BET Awards aren’t the only thing cracking out in L.A. this weekend. On Friday (June 29) ASCAP honored Quincy Jones and Pharrell Williams at the 25th annual ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Music Awards.

Music’s brightest and most accomplished writers, producers and artists were in attendance. Quincy Jones took home the ASCAP Founders award, while Skateboard P waked off with the ASCAP Golden Note award, but they weren’t the only winners.

Drake’s producer and right-hand man Noah “40” Shebib won the Songwriter of the Year award thanks to his work on Drizzy’s Take Care LP. Miguel and Happy Perez took home the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Song award after they worked together penning Miguel’s 2011 single “Sure Thing” and Jean-Baptiste Kouame II and Wesley Pentz won the Top Rap Song award for their writing work on Chris Brown’s “Look at Me Now.” Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis also added more hardware to their legendary run with the Top Gospel Song award for their work on Kirk Franklin’s “I Smile.”

Fabolous, Marsha Ambrosius, Wayne Brady, Astro, No ID, Tha Bizness, Drumma Boy and Meek Mill were also in attendance. The awards ceremony was also marked by a Meek Mill performance, the Maybach Music MC rocked his “House Party” single.

Who was your favorite songwriter and producer of the year? Let us know in the comments!