This Year's Indie Speed Run Features All Star Line-Up Of Judges


The Indie Speed Run is a game jam in which participants have 48 hours to create a fully playable game from start to finish. The contest will take place globally, across 15 live locations to be exact.

On the surface, it sounds like many other game jams, but there are a few key differences. First, there's a theme along with an element, both of which must be incorporated in the game, which is par for the course in such things. But when the clock starts, there's the option to roll the "Danger Dice" and get new parameters.

But it's mentioned how these replacement criteria will more than likely be wackier, and trickier to implement, though it's also implied that they'll be a lot more fun. And the second key distinction of the Indie Speed Run are the panel of judges. Which again is fairly standard, but wait till you see who will be making the call.

There are 15 judges in total, and to say that it's an-all star assortment is an understatement. It includes:

  • Peter Molyneux (Fable)
  • Matthew Davis (FTL)
  • Justin Ma (FTL)
  • Kim Swift (Portal)
  • Brian Fargo (Fallout)
  • Ian Dallas (Unfinished Swan)
  • Trent Oster (Baldur's Gate)
  • Ron Gilbert (Monkey Island)
  • Jason Rohrer (Passage)
  • Dan Pinchbeck (Dear Ester)
  • Brian Provinciano (Retro City Rampage)
  • Ben Croshaw (Zero Punctuation)
  • Markus 'Notch' Persson (Minecraft)
  • Andrew Spinks (Terraria)
  • Suda51 (No More Heroes)

The grand prize is $2,500, second prize is $1,000, and third is $500, though one could argue that the biggest prize is simply having said people above play your handiwork. All games will also be made available online. To put your name down, simply head on over to the Indie Speed Run website.

Related Video:

Watch: The Bureau: XCOM Declassified 'Yolo' Trailer


Follow @MTVMultiplayer on Twitter and be sure to "like" us on Facebook for the best geek news about comics, toys, gaming and more!