First Teams Qualify For The Call of Duty Championship

The Call of Duty Championship is less than a month away, and Activision and Treyarch have revealed the top eight multiplayer teams to qualify through the "Call of Duty: Black Ops II" League Play Champions Series on Xbox Live.

The eight teams that qualified – Rage, TVA, Vintage, Phoenix, Curse, Quantic, compLexity and Awe Sports – will be joined by an additional 24 teams to compete in "Call of Duty: Black Ops 2" multiplayer matches for a cut of the $1 million prize.

The other 24 teams headed to the tournament will qualify through events hosted by Major League Gaming, The Australian Cyber League, and The Electronic Sports League and its affiliates.

Both the Major League Gaming 2013 Pro Circuit Winter Championship running from March 15-17, and The Electronic Sports League World Championship tournament, going on March 16-17, will determine eight of the 24 additional teams headed to the inaugural Call of Duty Championship.

The Call of Duty Championship, presented by Xbox takes place April 5-7th at the Hollywood Palladium Theatre in Hollywood, CA. The event will stream live on the web, so be sure to mark your calendar.

Related posts:

First-Person Survival Horror Game 'Outlast' Coming To PAX

'Tomb Raider' Review: Learning To Survive A Reboot


Follow @MTVGeek on Twitter and be sure to "like" us on Facebook for the best geek news about comics, toys, gaming and more! And don't forget to follow our resident gadget geek @hatfieldy!