PSN Maintenance Begins at 11:00am ET, Sign-in Now If You Want to Play!

If you haven’t signed in to the Playstation Network within the last five days you’d better do it right now. Sony has recently confirmed that the Playstation Network will be down for maintenance all-day Thursday, July 26th. However, if you have signed it within the last five days you will still have some online functionality.

The announcement originally came from the EU Playstation Blog, but it was later confirmed via Playstation forums that the maintenance will also effect those of us in North America. Beginning at 11:00am ET the Playstation Network will be offline, and it won’t be available to anyone who hasn’t signed in recently until Friday, July 27th at 3:00am ET.

Here’s the official word from Sony…

In order to continue to deliver you the best online games experience, we will be performing maintenance on the network this Thursday, July 26th. This maintenance will start at approximately 8:00 am PDT (9:00am MDT / 10:00am CDT /11:00 am EDT) and end around 11:00pm PDT on Thursday, July 26th (1:00am MDT / 2:00am CDT / 3:00am EDT on Friday, July 27th).

During this maintenance period, you may receive a message that states “PlayStation Network is undergoing maintenance” when attempting to access the PlayStation Store or PlayStation Home. As long as you have signed in to PSN within 5 days prior to the start of maintenance (meaning: any time since July 21st), you WILL be able to play games online and enjoy apps such as Netflix, HULU Plus and Music Unlimited during this maintenance period. So if you haven’t signed in to PSN in the last few days, we suggest you do so before the maintenance period begins Thursday morning.

Did you sign in yet? What are you waiting for!? Maintenance is about to begin!

Related posts:
The ’Mists of Pandaria’ Spread in ’WoW’ on September 25th
Smashing ’Bots With Friends: The ’Transformers: Fall of Cybertron’ Multiplayer Trailer

Follow @MTVMultiplayer on Twitter and be sure to “like” us on Facebook for the best geek news about comics, toys, gaming and more!