'Silver Linings,' 'Moonrise' Lead Spirit Award Nominations

Silver Linings

Hot on the heels of last night's indie-spirited Gotham Awards are today's nominations for Film Independent's 28th annual Independent Spirit Awards; the proverbial Oscars of Indie film.

In years past the Independent Spirit Award nominations have served as an indicator of future Oscar nominees, but we'll have to wait and see if that is the case for 2013, keeping in mind a few of the organization's key eligibility requirements: i.e. a film's budget cannot exceed $20 million and must have been made and distributed in America.

Check out the complete nominations list, announced by Anna Kendrick, Zoe Saldana and Common, after the jump!

Best Feature

"Beasts of the Southern Wild"


"Keep the Lights On"

"Moonrise Kingdom"

"Silver Linings Playbook"

Best Director

Wes Anderson, "Moonrise Kingdom"

Julia Loktev, "The Loneliest Planet"

David O. Russell, "Silver Linings Playbook"

Ira Sachs, "Keep The Lights On"

Benh Zeitlin, "Beasts of the Southern Wild"

Best Male Lead

Jack Black, "Bernie"

Bradley Cooper, "Silver Linings Playbook"

John Hawkes, "The Sessions"

Thure Lindhardt, "Keep the Lights On"

Matthew McConaughey, "Killer Joe"

Wendell Pierce, "Four"

Best Female Lead

Linda Cardellini, "Return"

Emayatzy Corinealdi, "Middle of Nowhere"

Jennifer Lawrence, "Silver Linings Playbook"

Quvenzhané Wallis, "Beasts of the Southern Wild"

Mary Elizabeth Winstead, "Smashed"

Best Screenplay

Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola, "Moonrise Kingdom"

Zoe Kazan, "Ruby Sparks"

Martin McDonagh, "Seven Psychopaths"

David O. Russell, "Silver Linings Playbook"

Ira Sachs, "Keep the Lights On"

Best Supporting Male

Matthew McConaughey, "Magic Mike"

David Oyelowo, "Middle of Nowhere"

Michael Péna, "End of Watch"

Sam Rockwell, "Seven Psychopaths"

Bruce Willis, "Moonrise Kingdom"

Best Supporting Female

Rosemarie DeWitt, "Your Sister's Sister"

Ann Dowd, "Compliance"

Helen Hunt, "The Sessions"

Brit Marling, "Sound of My Voice"

Lorraine Toussaint, "Middle of Nowhere"

Best Cinematography

Yoni Brook, "Valley Of Saints"

Lol Crawley, "Here"

Ben Richardson, "Beasts of the Southern Wild"

Roman Vasyanov, "End of Watch"

Robert Yeoman, "Moonrise Kingdom"

Best International Film

"Amour" (France)

"Once Upon A Time in Anatolia" (Turkey)

"Rust And Bone" (France/Belgium)

"Sister" (Switzerland)

"War Witch" (Democratic Republic of Congo)

Best Documentary

"How to Survive a Plague"

"Marina Abramovi?: The Artist is Present"

"The Central Park Five"

"The Invisible War"

"The Waiting Room"

Best First Feature

Rama Burshtein, "Fill the Void"

Adam Leon, "Gimme the Loot"

Colin Trevorrow, "Safety Not Guaranteed"

Zal Batmanglij, "Sound of my Voice"

Stephen Chbosky, "The Perks of Being a Wallflower"

Best First Screenplay

Rama Burshtein, "Fill the Void"

Derek Connolly, "Safety Not Guaranteed"

Christopher Ford, "Robot and Frank"

Rashida Jones & Will McCormack, "Celeste and Jesse Forever"

Jonathan Lisecki, "Gayby"

The Film Independent Spirit Awards will be held on Saturday, February 23, 2012 in the afternoon in a tent on the beach in Santa Monica. The premiere broadcast of the ceremony will air later that evening at 10:00 pm ET/PT on IFC.