Getty

Find Some Chill, Your Snapchat Is Still Private

No one's hoarding your nudes, okay?

If your feeds are clogged with people freaking the f--k out over Snapchat's new privacy update, here's the truth: Your snaps are as private as they've ever been. You can resume your regular snapping without fear.

After the app revealed some updates to their privacy policy last week -- mostly some language changes to their Privacy Policy and Terms of Service -- rumors started up about Snapchat saving our photos on their servers (supposedly to share with advertisers) and violating our privacy.

Good on those who choose to read the fine print, but these particular worries, according to a blog post published Sunday (Nov. 1) is all totally wrong:

First off, we want to be crystal clear: The Snaps and Chats you send your friends remain as private today as they were before the update. Our Privacy Policy continues to say—as it did before—that those messages “are automatically deleted from our servers once we detect that they have been viewed or have expired.” Of course, a recipient can always screenshot or save your Snaps or Chats. But the important point is that Snapchat is not—and never has been—stockpiling your private Snaps or Chats. And because we continue to delete them from our servers as soon as they’re read, we could not—and do not—share them with advertisers or business partners.

TL;DR: The risks to your privacy are the same as they've always been. You should probably be more concerned about that weird friend who screenshots everything.