Go To Hell With The Black Keys On 'Turn Blue'

Listen to the band's haunting new single.

Get ready for a particularly blue monday, as The Black Keys just dropped their new single, "Turn Blue," off of their upcoming record by the same name.

On Monday (April 14), the band posted the song to YouTube, complete with the swirling, hypnotic visuals that heralded the impending release of the record.

The Black Keys teased the album in March via a video featuring a hypnotist played by L.A.-based actor/model/musician/entrepreneur Micah Fitzgerald.

A moody, haunted house of a track, the jam kicks off with Dan Auerbach crooning, "In the dead of the night I start to lose control/ But I still carry the weight like I've always done before," before launching into the falsetto-tastic chorus, "I really don't think you know that could be hell below, below/ I really do hope you know that could be hell below."

Co-producer Danger Mouse's influence thrums particularly heavily in this track — even more so than on previous single "Fever." In fact, the song sounds like it could have easily fit on Portugal. The Man's last record, Evil Friends, also produced by Danger Mouse.

Early tastes of Turn Blue seem to indicate that the band is, in a sense, turning away from more rowdy bangers like "Lonely Boy" off of 2011's El Camino, with Carney saying in a statement, "We are always trying to push ourselves when we make a record, not repeat our previous work but not abandon it either... On this record, we let the songs breathe and explored moods, textures and sounds. We're excited for the world to hear Turn Blue."

The Black Keys' new album is due on May 13, and is already available for pre-order through the band's site. The full tracklist for Turn Blue is:

» "Weight of Love"

» "In Time"

» "Turn Blue"

» "Fever"

» "Year in Review"

» "Bullet in the Brain"

» "It's Up to You Now"

» "Waiting on Words"

» "10 Lovers"

» "In Our Prime"

» "Gotta Get Away"