Jay-Z Uses Scavenger Hunt To Reveal Magna Carta Track List

Hov's upcoming 13-track LP could start off with 'Picasso Baby' and ends with 'Nickles & Dimes.'

With July 4 fast-approaching Jay-Z figured he'd have a little fun with his fans on Saturday and send them on a scavenger hunt through Brooklyn in search of the track list for his upcoming Magna Carta Holy Grail LP. The album will drop on Independence Day through a special app for Samsung smartphone users and will be available to the rest of the world three days later.

A member of Jay's team who goes by the Twitter handle @jjmonster began using Twitter and Instagram to lure New York fans to various Brooklyn locations with promises of a prize. Hov fanatics from Queens, Harlem and of course BK all flocked to get their hands on a binder which contained the titles of all of MCHG's tracks.

One fan, who is known on YouTube as Jason Millions, posted a 19-second video of him thumbing through the binder, revealing the song titles one by one. "Jay-Z's scavenger hunt, didn't even know what it was but...," he said with his voice trailing off before he flipped through the book's pages.

If the page order in the binder is correct, it appears that the album will contain 13 songs and open with "Picasso Baby," a track that may draw parallels between Hov's love for high art and awesome raps. The actual lyrical content on any of Magna Carta's songs is anyone's guess and a selection with the title, "F.U.T.W." could be about anything.

Still, song titles like "Part II (On the Run)" suggest that there will be some dramatic moments on the LP, while "La Familia" and "Jay-Z Blue" are two terms that longtime Jigga fans should be familiar with. Hov named his 2000 album The Dynasty: Roc La Familia and he once trademarked Jay-Z blue as an official color and even rhymed about it on Young Jeezy's 2005 fan-favorite "Go Crazy" ("My favorite hue is Jay-Z blue").

Pharrell Williams appeared in the show-stopping Magna Carter television ads alongside producers Swizz Beatz, Timbaland and Rick Rubin, so it's a safe bet that Skateboard P had something to do with the track "BBC." After all, the song does bear the same initials as his Billionaire Boys Club clothing line, but again, anything is possible.

The track list doesn't uncover any of the album's features either, and while Jay has recently been photographed in the studio with Nas, Justin Timberlake, Drake and Raekwon, there is no indication that they will appear on the album.

It's also unclear on which song Jay interpolates lyrics from Nirvana's classic rock single "Smells Like Teen Spirit," but according to Courtney Love, she recently granted the star rapper permission to use her deceased husband's song. "I'm letting Jay-Z use lyrics - Francis would freak [if she knew this.] Jay-Z's huge and we're friends. I mean we're not besties or anything," Love told HuffingtonPost.com in an interview that posted on Wednesday.

The Magna Carta Holy Grail track list:

1. "Picasso Baby"

2. "Heaven"

3. "Versus"

4. "Tom Ford"

5. "Beach Is Better"

6. "F--kWithMeYouKnowIGotIt"

7. "Oceans"

8. "F.U.T.W."

9. "Part II (On The Run)"

10. "BBC"

11. "La Familia"

12. "Jay-Z Blue"

13. "Nickles & Dimes"