Solange Announces New Album, True, Coming In November

Big sister Beyonce and brother-in-law Jay-Z attend album NYC release party for the seven-track EP.

Solange is finally ready to give her fans some new tunes. On Friday (October 26), the DJ, fashionista and baby sister to Beyoncé announced details of her forthcoming album, titled True, on Friday.

The seven-track EP will drop digitally on November 27 and will hit retailers in January 2013. "There was an instant, musical chemistry," Solange said in a statement of working with producer Dev Hynes (Florence and the Machine and the Chemical Brothers) on the Terrible Records release.

In addition to its catchy lead single, "Losing You," the album will include songs with titles like "Locked in Closets," "Bad Girls" and "Some Things Never Seem to F---ing Work."

To celebrate the forthcoming release, Solange held a listening party Thursday night in New York City, reportedly attended by Beyoncé brother-in-law Jay-Z.

Dev was also there, according to Rap-Up, where he took the stage to tell the crowd, "There's no one in the world I'd rather have worked with on this than Solange."

The album is the singer's first since 2008's Sol-Angel and the Hadley St. Dreams. She previously described the album's influences as "eclectic with '80s references and African percussion influences."

That vibe was certainly captured in the album's lead visual for "Losing You." Directed by Melina Matsoukas (Rihanna, Beyoncé, Christina Aguilera), the ladies headed to Cape Town, South Africa for the video, which looked partly like a glossy fashion spread of funky tribal prints and tailored suits. Solange also described the mood of the video as aiming to look like a "stylized documentary," adding, "So the locations for my video will largely be inspired by the color in the architecture and townships around here. We'll just take a camera and see what happens."

The full tracklist for Solange's True:

»"Losing You"

»"Some Things Never Seem to F---ing Work"

»"Locked in Closets"

»"Lovers in the Parking Lot"

»"Don't Let Me Down"

»"Look Good With Trouble"

»"Bad Girls"