Red Hot Chili Peppers To Put Out 18 Unreleased Songs From I'm With You

Band will release the songs digitally and on seven-inch vinyl.

The Red Hot Chili Peppers were clearly feeling it during the recording of their most recent album, I'm With You. In fact, they were so productive that over the next six months they plan to flood the zone with 18 previously unreleased songs from the sessions.

The band announced on Monday (June 18) that each song will be available both digitally and on two-song seven-inch vinyl singles. The first double-shot of new music will feature "Strange Man" on the A-side and "Long Progression" on the B-side and will hit stores on August 14.

"Finding songs that seem to want to join hands with others is a special task that require the right people... and the right songs!" said RHCP guitarist Josh Klinghoffer in a statement announcing the series. "Some songs seem to have a lot more of an agenda than others. Some songs play well with others and some songs need more attention and a little extra care. Here are some songs that seemed to want to pair up and take a later train. Keep your eye on them, they're up to something."

Each seven-inch release will feature cover artwork by Kelsey Brookes, an artist whose colorful work plumbs the nexus of microbiology, surf culture and folk art. The covers of the vinyl singles will be able to be combined by fans to create a larger piece of art.

The second set of songs, "Magpies" and "Victorian Machinery," will drop on September 11 and another pair, "Never is a Long Time" and "Love of Your Life" will follow on October 2. The schedule for the remaining singles (all titles TBD) is: November 6, December 4 and December 18. The final two releases will be released in early 2013.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Famers are in the midst of a tour in support of With You, their first studio effort with Klinghoffer. The band recently played a triumphant set at the Bonnaroo festival
 in Tennessee and are slated to headline at Lollapalooza
 in August.