O Music Awards To Touch Down At Mystery Las Vegas Location

Lupe Fiasco, Lil B, Mumford & Sons set to perform at inaugural event, taking place April 28 at 11 p.m. ET.

Little by little, the veil is being lifted on the O Music Awards. The inaugural edition of the MTV Networks awards fest (@MTVOMA), celebrating the art, creativity, personality, technology and migration of music into the digital space, will take place in Las Vegas on April 28 at 11 p.m. ET. The location of the O Music Awards show hasn't been revealed yet, but organizers promise a wild start that will include a flash mob descending on a "surprise iconic Las Vegas location" that will serve as the backdrop for the program.

The live, hour-long online event will include performances from Mumford & Sons, Lupe Fiasco, Lil B, Chiddy Bang, Matt & Kim, Edward Sharpe, Old Crow Medicine Show and Foster the People, along with appearances by Ke$ha, Cee Lo Green, B.o.B, Wiz Khalifa, Robyn and Theophilus London. The extravaganza will be seen not only on MTV.com, VH1.com and LogoTV.com, but also on mobile Web and the MTV News app, as well as MTV's international websites.

More than 2 million votes have come in since voting began on April 6 in such categories as Best Fan Cover, Innovative Music Video, Fan Army FTW, Funniest Music Short, Innovative Artist and Must-Follow Artist on Twitter.

Lady Gaga and Odd Future's Tyler the Creator lead with three nominations each, followed by Kanye West, the Flaming Lips and Nicki Minaj with two nods apiece.

Additional nominated artists include Arcade Fire, Radiohead, Justin Bieber, Lil B, Wiz Khalifa, Robyn, OK Go, Katy Perry and iamwhoiam.

Other notable nominees include Antoine Dodson/ Gregory Brothers (Funniest Music Short); the Lonely Island (Funniest Music Short); Funny or Die (Funniest Music Short); 50 Cent, Rebecca Black and Bert (Favorite Animated GIF); the Hype Machine (Best Music Discovery Service); Pandora (Best Music Discovery Service); Tiny Desk Concerts (Best Performance Series); Gorilla vs. Bear (Best Independent Music Blog); and Marshall Jones (Best Music Hack).

"The goal for the O Music Awards has been to create a conversation and debate around the artists, tech gurus, platforms and personalities impacting digital music," said Dermot McCormack, Executive Vice President of Digital for MTV Music and Logo Group. "Generating more than 2 million votes and counting in less than two weeks underscores the passion and imperative need for a centralized celebration of achievement and innovation in the growing digital music space."

The show will be preceded by a week of events beginning this Monday, with the naming of two or more of the fan-voted award winners every day in the run-up to the big show. And because this isn't your granny's awards show, the hardware will be handed out in a number of innovative ways, including live streaming, viral videos, announcements on social media and winner acceptances via digital video conferencing.

You'll also be able to get your winner announcements through the O Music Awards Facebook, Twitter and Tumblr accounts.

At 2:30 a.m. ET on the day of the show, Chiddy Bang's Chidera "Chiddy"

Anamege will attempt to snag the Guinness World Records title for the "Longest Freestyle Rap," which fans will be able to watch in real time at OMusicAwards.com.

"I've been freestyling since I was 14 years old, and this is definitely me putting myself to the test. I really think I can break the record but, regardless, this is going to be a dope moment. I am ready to just go and go!" said Anamege.

In keeping with the unpredictable nature of the show, the final three awards will be announced on April 29, the day after the broadcast, and the O site will continue to celebrate innovation in the digital space and keep handing out awards based on fan demand.

"We've painstakingly designed this entire experimental experience to embody and reflect the medium it is celebrating," said McCormack. "In the spirit of digital culture, the next O Music Awards could pop up two months or even a year from now. One thing is certain; it will happen when the fans demand it."

Vote for the O Music Awards now! And don't miss the premiere Thursday, April 28, at 11 p.m. ET on OMusicAwards.com.