'Black Swan' Racks Up 12 Critics' Choice Movie Awards Nominations

'True Grit' and 'The King's Speech' score 11 nods for show, which airs live on VH1 on January 14.

While most of the country is still waiting to get its first glimpse of "Black Swan," the ballet drama starring Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis has already pirouetted into awards season with a record 12 nominations for the 16th annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards. The show will air live on VH1 on January 14 at 9 p.m. ET from the Hollywood Palladium.

Darren Aronofsky's dance thriller wasn't the only film racking up serious love, with the Coen brothers' remake of "True Grit" and the stammering royal drama "The King's Speech" each picking up 11 nominations as well. One of the year's other critically acclaimed hits, "Inception," got 10 nominations, while "The Social Network" snagged nine.

Among the nods picked up by "Swan" were nominations for Best Picture, Best Actress (Portman), Best Supporting Actress (Kunis), Best Director (Aronofsky), Best Original Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Art Direction, Best Editing, Best Costume Design, Best Makeup, Best Sound and Best Score.

The Best Picture race was packed with solid contenders, including "127 Hours," "Black Swan," "The Fighter," "Inception," "The King's Speech," "The Social Network," "The Town," "Toy Story 3," "True Grit" and "Winter's Bone." Competition was also tight in the Best Actor and Best Actress categories, which pit Jeff Bridges ("True Grit") against Robert Duvall ("Get Low"), Jesse Eisenberg ("The Social Network"), Colin Firth ("The King's Speech"), James Franco ("127 Hours") and Ryan Gosling ("Blue Valentine"), as well as Annette Bening ("The Kids Are All Right") against Nicole Kidman ("Rabbit Hole"), Jennifer Lawrence ("Winter's Bone"), Portman ("Black Swan"), Noomi Rapace ("The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo") and Michelle Williams ("Blue Valentine"). The actress bid was the record seventh acting nomination for Kidman, who won the award 15 years ago for "To Die For."

Among the other nominations: Best Makeup and Best Visual Effects notices for "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 1," Best Visual Effects for "Tron: Legacy" and noms for Tim Burton's "Alice in Wonderland" for Best Art Direction, Best Costume Design, Best Makeup and Best Visual Effects.

It could be a good night for 13-year-old actress Chloe Grace Moretz, who was nominated in the Best Young Actor/Actress category twice for "Let Me In" and "Kick-Ass."

Full list of nominations:

Best Picture

"127 Hours"

"Black Swan"

"The Fighter"


"The King's Speech"

"The Social Network"

"The Town"

"Toy Story 3"

"True Grit"

"Winter's Bone"

Best Actor

Jeff Bridges, "True Grit"

Robert Duvall, "Get Low"

Jesse Eisenberg, "The Social Network"

Colin Firth, "The King's Speech"

James Franco, "127 Hours"

Ryan Gosling, "Blue Valentine"

Best Actress

Annette Bening, "The Kids Are All Right"

Nicole Kidman, "Rabbit Hole"

Jennifer Lawrence, "Winter's Bone"

Natalie Portman, "Black Swan"

Noomi Rapace, "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo"

Michelle Williams, "Blue Valentine"

Best Supporting Actor

Christian Bale, "The Fighter"

Andrew Garfield, "The Social Network"

Jeremy Renner, "The Town"

Sam Rockwell, "Conviction"

Mark Ruffalo, "The Kids Are All Right"

Geoffrey Rush, "The King's Speech"

Best Supporting Actress

Amy Adams, "The Fighter"

Helena Bonham Carter, "The King's Speech"

Mila Kunis, "Black Swan"

Melissa Leo, "The Fighter"

Hailee Steinfeld, "True Grit"

Jacki Weaver, "Animal Kingdom"

Best Young Actor/Actress

Elle Fanning, "Somewhere"

Jennifer Lawrence, "Winter's Bone"

Chloe Grace Moretz, "Let Me In"

Chloe Grace Moretz, "Kick-Ass"

Kodi Smit-McPhee, "Let Me In"

Hailee Steinfeld, "True Grit"

Best Acting Ensemble

"The Fighter"

"The Kids Are All Right"

"The King's Speech"

"The Social Network"

"The Town"

Best Director

Darren Aronofsky, "Black Swan"

Danny Boyle, "127 Hours"

Joel Coen & Ethan Coen, "True Grit"

David Fincher, "The Social Network"

Tom Hooper, "The King's Speech"

Christopher Nolan, "Inception"

Best Original Screenplay

"Another Year," Mike Leigh

"Black Swan," Mark Heyman, Andres Heinz and John McLaughlin

"The Fighter," Scott Silver, Paul Tamasy and Eric Johnson (Story by Keith Dorrington, Paul Tamasy and Eric Johnson)

"Inception," Christopher Nolan

"The Kids Are All Right," Lisa Cholodenko and Stuart Blumberg

"The King's Speech," David Seidler

Best Adapted Screenplay

"127 Hours," Simon Beaufoy and Danny Boyle

"The Social Network," Aaron Sorkin

"The Town," Ben Affleck, Peter Craig and Sheldon Turner

"Toy Story 3," Michael Arndt (Story by John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich)

"True Grit," Joel Coen and Ethan Coen

"Winter's Bone," Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini

Best Cinematography

"127 Hours," Anthony Dod Mantle

"Black Swan," Matthew Libatique

"Inception," Wally Pfister

"The King's Speech," Danny Cohen

"True Grit," Roger Deakins

Best Art Direction

"Alice in Wonderland," Stefan Dechant

"Black Swan," Therese DePrez and Tora Peterson

"Inception," Guy Hendrix Dyas

"The King's Speech," Netty Chapman

"True Grit," Jess Gonchor and Nancy Haigh

Best Editing

"127 Hours," Jon Harris

"Black Swan," Andrew Weisblum

"Inception," Lee Smith

"The Social Network," Angus Wall and Kirk Baxter

Best Costume Design

"Alice in Wonderland," Colleen Atwood

"Black Swan," Amy Westcott

"The King's Speech," Jenny Beavan

"True Grit," Mary Zophres

Best Makeup

"Alice in Wonderland"

"Black Swan"

"Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 1"

"True Grit"

Best Visual Effects

"Alice in Wonderland"

"Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 1"


"Tron: Legacy"

Best Sound

"127 Hours"

"Black Swan"


"The Social Network"

"Toy Story 3"

Best Animated Feature

"Despicable Me"

"How to Train Your Dragon"

"The Illusionist"


"Toy Story 3"

Best Action Movie




"The Town"


Best Comedy


"Date Night"

"Easy A"

"Get Him to the Greek"

"I Love You Phillip Morris"

"The Other Guys"

Best Picture Made for Television

"The Pacific"

"Temple Grandin"

"You Don't Know Jack"

Best Foreign Language Film


"I Am Love"

"The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo"

Best Documentary Feature

"Exit Through the Gift Shop"

"Inside Job"


"Joan Rivers: A Piece of Work"

"The Tillman Story"

"Waiting for Superman"

Best Song

"I See the Light," performed by Mandy Moore and Zachary Levi/ written by Alan Menken & Glenn Slater, "Tangled"

"If I Rise," performed by Dido and A.R. Rahman/ music by A.R. Rahman/ lyrics by Dido Armstrong and Rollo Armstrong, "127 Hours"

"Shine," performed and written by John Legend, "Waiting for Superman"

"We Belong Together," performed and written by Randy Newman, "Toy Story 3"

"You Haven't Seen the Last of Me Yet," performed by Cher/ written by Diane Warren, "Burlesque"

Best Score

"Black Swan," Clint Mansell

"Inception," Hans Zimmer

"The King's Speech," Alexandre Desplatv

"The Social Network," Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross

"True Grit," Carter Burwell

The Critics' Choice Movie Awards air on Friday, January 14, at 9 p.m. ET on VH1.

For breaking news, celebrity columns, humor and more — updated around the clock — visit MTVMoviesBlog.com.