Green Day, Shakira, Mary J. Blige To Perform At American Music Awards

November 22 awards show lineup already includes Rihanna, Jay-Z, Eminem and more.

The 37th annual American Music Awards have lined up a few more acts to take the stage at the show on November 22. [artist id="988"]Green Day[/artist], [artist id="504144"]Shakira[/artist], and [artist id="854"]Mary J. Blige[/artist] have joined the performers list, which includes Rihanna, Jay-Z and Adam Lambert, to name a few, for the awards show that will air live on ABC.

"We're very excited about having Green Day, Rihanna, Shakira, Mary J. Blige and Keith Urban all performing on one stage," AMAs producer Larry Klein said in a statement. "Each year, we try to have a variety of artists and sounds, and I think these performers really showcase the depth of what this show brings to its fans."

2009 American Music Award Performers

The night's other big performers include Lady Gaga, Eminem, Keith Urban, Carrie Underwood, Kelly Clarkson, Daughtry, Jennifer Lopez, Alicia Keys and the Black Eyed Peas.

The awards show will feature an array of nominees determined by data from Nielsen SoundScan radio and retail figures, with Taylor Swift in the lead with six nominations, followed by Eminem and the late Michael Jackson at five apiece. Though Jackson had not released new material for nearly a decade at the time of his passing, his nominations are based on the strong sales of his catalog albums following his death.

Swift's nominations include Artist of the Year, Favorite Country Album (for Fearless), Favorite Female Pop or Rock Artist and Favorite Female Country Artist. MJ was also recognized in the Pop or Rock Artist of the Year category, Favorite Soul/R&B Male Artist and Favorite Soul/R&B Album (for Number Ones). Em's nominations include Artist of the Year; Favorite Male Pop or Rock Artist; Favorite Male Rap/Hip-Hop Artist and Favorite Rap/Hip-Hop Album (for Relapse).

Other multiple-category nominees include Lady Gaga, T.I., Kings of Leon, Beyoncé and the Peas, who all have three. For the third year, winners will be determined by online voting.