Dailey & Vincent Rule IBMA Nominations

Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder, Blue Highway, Dan Tyminski Band Grab Six Nominations Each

Dailey & Vincent, a duo formed just last year, topped the nominations for the 2008 International Bluegrass Music Association awards. The announcements were made Thursday (Aug. 14) at the Country Music Hall of Fame’s Ford Theater by multiple IBMA award-winner Del McCoury, two-time Country Music Association female vocalist of the year Kathy Mattea, disc jockey and historian Eddie Stubbs and IBMA executive director Dan Hays.

Together and separately, veteran performers Jamie Dailey and Darrin Vincent were picked to vie in 10 categories, including the all-important entertainer and album of the year slots. Cornering six nominations each were Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder, Blue Highway and the Dan Tyminski Band, another new musical configuration.

Dailey & Vincent were on hand to open and close the program with their music. One of the songs they performed, “By the Mark,” turned out to be one of their two song of the year nominations (the other being “More Than a Name on the Wall). “By The Mark” was also cited in the best gospel performance category.

Stubbs announced that Bill Clifton and the late Dr. Charles K. Wolfe will be inducted into International Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame. Clifton is a longtime performer, recording artist, folk music scholar and organizer of folk clubs and bluegrass events in the U.S. and Europe.

Wolfe, who would have been 65 on the day his nomination was announced, wrote voluminously and expertly on country and bluegrass music and performers in addition to his holding down his day job as professor of English at Middle Tennessee State University. Of his many books and countless articles, his magnum opus was A Good Natured-Riot: The Birth of the Grand Ole Opry, a study that recounted the Opry’s first 15 years of operation, from 1925 to 1940.

CMT.com’s in-house bluegrass aficionado, Craig Shelburne, was nominated for print media person of the year in a category that also includes freelance writers Stephanie P. Ledgin and Chris Stuart.

Among the bluegrass artists attending the announcements were Tyminski, Eddie Adcock, Ronnie Reno, Carl Jackson, Larry Stephenson, Rob Ickes and David Crow.

Noting that McCoury, a nine-time IBMA entertainer of the year, will host the organization’s awards show, Hays joked, “Maybe he’ll bring some of his trophies back and we can hand them out again. I think he has more than we do.”

When Hays introduced McCoury and Mattea to read the performing and recording nominations, he pointed out that each has a new album that has topped Billboard‘s bluegrass chart and that each album — Mattea’s Coal and McCoury’s Moneyland — speaks to current social issues.

“They both reshaped how we think of music,” Hays asserted.

Mattea and McCoury were in high spirits and good humor, however, as they slogged through category after category of nominees. Mattea quipped that the exquisitely coiffed McCoury had “commandeered all the hairspray in Nashville” and added, “It’s pretty bad to be the only woman in the room and have the lowest voice.”

McCoury marveled that he was able to read the nominations without donning his glasses. When he read the album title Everett Lilly & Everybody and Their Brother, a candidate in the recorded event division, he struck an incredulous tone, saying, “Everett’s got everybody and their brother [on the album] except me and my brother.”

Set for Oct. 2 at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium, The IBMA Awards show is the high point of the World of Bluegrass convention that takes place Sept. 29 to Oct. 5, primarily at the Nashville Convention Center. The Bluegrass Fan Fest, which features the genre’s top performers, runs Oct. 3-5.

Here’s a complete list of this year’s IBMA nominees:

Entertainer of the Year
Dailey & Vincent
The Grascals
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
The Del McCoury Band
Rhonda Vincent & the Rage

Vocal Group of the Year
Blue Highway
Dailey & Vincent
The Grascals
The Isaacs
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
Danny Paisley and the Southern Grass

Instrumental Group of the Year
Blue Highway
Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper
The Infamous Stringdusters
Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder
Dan Tyminski Band

Male Vocalist of the Year
Jamie Dailey
Russell Moore
Tim O’Brien
Danny Paisley
Dan Tyminski

Female Vocalist of the Year
Dale Ann Bradley
Sonya Isaacs
Alison Krauss
Claire Lynch
Rhonda Vincent

Album of the Year
Dailey & Vincent
Dailey & Vincent

Honoring the Fathers of Bluegrass — Tribute to 1946 and 1947
Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder

Lovin’ Pretty Women
Steep Canyon Rangers

The SteelDrivers
The SteelDrivers

Through the Window of a Train
Blue Highway

Song of the Year
“Alison’s Band”
Artist: Charlie Sizemore Band
Writers: Charlie Sizemore and Buddy Cannon

“By the Mark”
Artist: Dailey & Vincent
Writers: David Rawlings and Gillian Welch

“Drinkin’ Dark Whiskey”
Artist: The SteelDrivers
Writers: Mike Henderson and Chris Stapleton

“More Than a Name on the Wall”
Artist: Dailey & Vincent
Writers: Jimmy Fortune and John Rimel

“Through the Window of a Train”
Artist: Blue Highway
Writers: Tim Stafford and Steve Gulley

Gospel Recorded Performance
“Be Still Moses”
Steep Canyon Rangers

“By the Mark”
Dailey & Vincent

Help Is on the Way
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver

Salt of the Earth
Ricky Skaggs & the Whites

Where No One Stands Alone
Paul Williams & the Victory Trio

Instrumental Album
Live at the Linda
David Grier

Sound of the Slide Guitar
Andy Hall

Stepping Out
Jason Davis

The Past Is Present
Jason Barie

When at Last
Russ Barenberg

Recorded Event
Christmas Grass, Vol. 3
3 Fox Drive, Sonya Isaacs, John Cowan, Sarah Jarosz, Larry Sparks, Russell Moore and Charlie Daniels

Everett Lilly & Everybody and Their Brother
Everett Lilly, Bea Lilly, Charles Lilly, Daniel Lilly, Mark Lilly, Marty Stuart, Rhonda Vincent, Billy Walker, Ronnie McCoury, Rob McCoury, David Ball, Charlie Cushman, Larry Stephenson, Joe Spivey, Eddie Stubbs, Jason Carter, Dickey Lee, Freddy Weller, Mike Bub, Rad Lewis, Andy May, Darrin Vincent, Marcia Campbell, Clay Rigdon, Eric Blankenship and Bill Wolfenbarger

Salt of the Earth
Ricky Skaggs & the Whites

Standard Songs for Average People
John Prine and Mac Wiseman

We Are Family
Jeff & Sheri Easter, the Lewis Family & the Easter Brothers

Emerging Artist
Cadillac Sky
Dailey & Vincent
Danny Paisley and the Southern Grass
The SteelDrivers

Instrumental Performers

Kristen Scott Benson
J.D. Crowe
Jim Mills
Earl Scruggs
Ron Stewart

Barry Bales
Mike Bub
Missy Raines
Darrin Vincent
Marshall Wilborn

Hunter Berry
Jason Carter
Michael Cleveland
Stuart Duncan
Ron Stewart

Mike Auldridge
Jerry Douglas
Rob Ickes
Randy Kohrs
Phil Leadbetter

Cody Kilby
Tony Rice
Tim Stafford
Bryan Sutton
Josh Williams

Sam Bush
Sierra Hull
Doyle Lawson
Ronnie McCoury
Adam Steffey
Bluegrass Broadcaster
Kyle Cantrell, XM Satellite Radio
Katy Daley, WAMU’s bluegrasscountry.org
Terry Herd, Bluegrass Radio Network    

Bluegrass Event
Grey Fox Bluegrass Festival (Ancramdale, N.Y.)
River City Bluegrass Festival (Portland, Ore.)
29th annual Thomas Point Beach Bluegrass Festival (Thomas Point Beach, Maine)

Bluegrass Print Media Person
Stephanie P. Ledgin, freelance writer and author
Craig Shelburne, CMT.com
Chris Stuart, freelance writer, Bluegrass Unlimited

Best Graphic Design for Recorded Project
Designer: G. Carr and S. Holman
What The, Pete Wernick & Flexigrass

Designer: Smay Vision Graphic Design
The Stanley Brothers: The Definitive Collection (1947-1966) , the Stanley Brothers

Designer: Loren Witcher
Punch, the Punch Brothers

Best Liner Notes for Recorded Project
Writers: Frank and Marty Godbey
Bluegrass Holiday, J.D. Crowe

Writer: Gary Reid
The Stanley Brothers: The Definitive Collection (1947-1966) , the Stanley Brothers

Writer: Ron Thomason
Good News, the Charlie Sizemore Band