Beastie Boys' MCA Skateboards (Virtually) With Tony Hawk; Plus New Game Soundtrack Revealed

Nirvana, Foo Fighters, Jurassic 5, Smashing Pumpkins will be heard while playing 'Proving Ground.'

Spider-Man, Darth Maul ... and now MCA of the Beastie Boys. What's the pattern? They've all been virtual characters on a video game skateboard.

Game publisher Activision revealed to MTV News on Friday (August 24) that the Beasties' Adam Yauch, a.k.a. MCA, will be an unlockable character in "Tony Hawk's Proving Ground," the company's October installment of its annual skateboarding franchise.

The music legend joins a roster of unlockable bonus skaters that has included superheroes and rock stars from Iron Man to Gene Simmons to last year's featured franchise guest, Travis Barker. In exclusive images, it appears that MCA will be skateboarding — of all places — on the moon.

(Check out exclusive stills of MCA from "Tony Hawk's Proving Ground.")

The news is part of the soundtrack announcement for "Proving Ground," which will include 54 licensed songs. The franchise's traditional rock-with-some-rap mix includes the Foo Fighters' "The Pretender," Nirvana's "Breed," Slick Rick's "Children's Story" and Jurassic 5's "Radio."

The music connections don't end there. Activision announced Thursday that the Xbox 360 version of "Proving Ground" will include a five-song demo of "Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock" (see "Slash, Game Developers Riff On 'Guitar Hero III' And 'Rock Band,' In GameFile"). The demo includes master-track recordings of Pearl Jam's "Even Flow," Tenacious D's "The Metal" and Priestess' "Lay Down," as well as covers of Pet Benatar's "Hit Me With Your Best Shot" and the Scorpions' "Rock You Like a Hurricane."

The "Guitar Hero III" demo will also be available for download on Xbox Live two weeks later.

Both "Guitar Hero III" and "Tony Hawk's Proving Ground" for the Xbox 360 and PS3 are developed by longtime "Tony Hawk" studio Neversoft. "Proving Ground" will also be available on the Wii, PS2 and Nintendo DS.

"Tony Hawk" and "Guitar Hero" are Activision's two biggest franchises. Both face stiffer-than-usual competition this year. The skateboarding series will face a new rival in "Skate," a well-previewed title from mega-publisher Electronic Arts. "Guitar Hero" will battle with "Rock Band," the music game coming from EA and MTV Games.

Soundtrack for "Tony Hawk's Proving Ground," according to Activision:

· !!! -- "All My Heroes Are Weirdos"

· Airbourne -- "Girls in Black"

· Angels & Airwaves -- "Secret Crowds"

· Anglo Jackson -- "Motorbike"

· At the Gates -- "Slaughter of the Soul"

· Bad Brains -- "Banned in DC"

· Beastie Boys -- "Electric Worm"

· Blackalicious -- "Your Move"

· Bloc Party -- "Version 2.0"

· Cursed -- "The Hands Will Abide"

· Cymande -- "Fug"

· Dag Nasty -- "Circles"

· Darkest Hour -- "Sanctuary"

· DJ JS-1 (featuring L.I.F.E. Long & Immortal Technique) -- "Audio Technician"

· El-P -- "Up All Night"

· Folk Implosion -- "Natural One"

· Foo Fighters -- "The Pretender"

· Fu Manchu -- "We Must Obey"

· Funky 4+1 -- "Rappin and Rockin the House"

· Future Pigeon -- "Gift Tax"

· Gallows -- "Come Friendly Bombs"

· Gorilla Biscuits -- "Hold Your Ground"

· Jimmy Castor Bunch -- "It's Just Begun"

· Jurassic 5 -- "Radio"

· Kittens -- "Carpenter"

· Los Abandoned -- "Panic-Oh!"

· Lyrics Born (featuring KRS-One and Evidence) -- "Pack Up (Remix)"

· Maylene and the Sons of Disaster -- "Memories of the Grove"

· Motorcity Daredevils -- "Bear in the Air"

· Nation of Ulysses -- "You're My Miss Washington D.C."

· Nirvana -- "Breed"

· Oh No (featuring J Dilla and Roc "C") -- "Move, Pt. 2"

· Paint It Black -- "The New Brutality"

· Paris -- "The Devil Made Me Do It (Poach a Pig Mix)"

· Percee P -- "Throwback Rap Attack (Madlib Remix)"

· Pierce the Veil -- "I'd Rather Die Than Be Famous"

· Pig Destroyer -- "Loathsome"

· Reverend Horton Heat -- "Baddest of the Bad"

· Revolution Mother -- "Come On"

· Roots Manuva -- "Chin High"

· Sayvinyl -- "That's Entertainment"

· Silversun Pickups -- "Well Thought Out Twinkles"

· Slick Rick -- "Children's Story"

· Smashing Pumpkins -- "Tarantula"

· Snapcase -- "Energy Dome"

· The Bled -- "Starving Artiste"

· The Clash -- "Clash City Rockers"

· The Cramps -- "Garbage Man"

· The Icarus Line -- "Gets Paid"

· The Kooks -- "See the World"

· The Octopus Project -- "Music Is Happiness"

· The Rolling Stones -- "Sympathy for the Devil"

· The Sex Pistols -- "Holidays in the Sun"

· Twilight 22 -- "Electric Kingdom"

Check out the new MTV News Multiplayer blog, updated daily, for even more gaming coverage.